• Happy 10 years to The Hunger Games publication!
  • Wait, flesh eaters??? Does this mean there’s zombies in this book??
  • “Up you go Catnip” 😭😭😭😭
  • Okay but I seriously teared up when District 12 gave Katniss that salute.
  • I just picture this “makeover scene” like Miss Congeniality with Sandra Bullock.
  • Just comparing the characters in the book to the characters in the movie and they were so spot on Omg. Effie’s jubilant attitude; Cinna’s calming demeanor; Peeta’s seemingly passive attitude; Haymitch being just enough of an asshole.
  • “The boy with the bread” 😭😭😭
  • I still can’t get over how juvenile, yet relatable Katniss is.
  • “The saltiness reminds me of my tears” lol. I just cannot with that line. (105)
  • I MEAN ANYONE would swoon and ship Katniss and Peeta after that confession and reaction during the interview. Though I still love Gale a lot.
  • Fun fact, I learned what a cornucopia was from this book. I didn’t know the basket I associated with Fall/Thanksgiving had a name.
  • Jeez, I can’t help but feel like Katniss was fast, careful, and lucky in the beginning of the game. It reminds me of this scene from ATLA
    Screen Shot 2018-09-02 at 10.33.56 PM.png
  • I have no idea if I would even be able to decipher the messages Haymitch is sending to Katniss.
  • SHE CANNOT CATCH A BREAK. First the dehydration and now the fire??
  • The tracker-jacker is definitely downplayed in the movie…
  • I keep thinking of the person who played Rue in the movie and how they looked familiar…
  • Placing mines around the supply pile was actually a really good idea. I was thinking of strategies that you could do if I was in this Hunger Games: a) Follow the tributes around and take whatever supplies they don’t from dead tributes b) Take not just their food like Foxface but also some weapons until they don’t have as many.
    But it also seems like honestly The Hunger Games are seriously a lot of luck.
  • Idk how Collins did it, but you become extremely attached to Rue even though you spend like 20 pages at most with her.
  • I knew her death was coming, but I still seriously teared up at it T_T
  • I mean the drama of romance and the games really must have rocked the Capital viewers world.
  • They really do have good chemistry. Even if Katniss is unable to tell Perta is serious right now. They have a much stronger emotional connection than Katniss and Gale. And from Peeta’s perspective, he’s just hoping she’ll win, but if he can spend the last hours with her it’s not too bad.
  • The PrimXgoat story was just T_T
  • I mean, just the whole communication thing with Haymitch and Katniss was just genius. How she seemed to understand exactly what to do with what he sends her.
  • Foxface is incredibly smart to hide in the Cornucopia and then take off right after it rises.
  • “‘Haymitch said you would take a lot of convincing’
    ‘Haymitch,’ I ask. ‘What’s he got to do with it?’”
    Wow I totally forgot about this. This definitely is the first (obvious) sign Peeta’s not messing around. Too bad she’s too dense to press the subject. If it was me, I would have badgered him until he gave it.
  • Okay also Peeta’s story about how long he’s had a crush on Katniss is adorable and cute. But also makes me think of something else, like maybe Peeta’s father was generous with both Katniss and Prim because of their mother.
  • When your crush is so intense yet hopeless that a death sentence improves your odds. That’s some real optimistic thinking on Peeta’s part.
  • I know it’s probably weird, but it would be so interesting to read about other Hunger Games. Is there a novella or some fanfic I can get ahold of?
  • I think the most disturbing part of the games is the mutts and how they all look like the past tributes.
  • Good god, kissing for ten minutes? Seriously? That’s a hella long time.
  • The ending is so sad I weep. It also makes me want to read Catching Fire now.
  • For your entertainment I have recreated The Hunger Games as emojis (Also Katniss has blonde hair in this because emoji choices are garbage):Screen Shot 2018-09-02 at 10.43.07 PM
  • 7/10—Would recommend. Honestly the part of this book that was the best executed was the pacing. It was honestly super good. Not too fast, but still had enough action. You just fly through it because it flows so well. The characters are actually so good, I’m totally gonna read Catching Fire now.
    • Things I liked:
      • Katniss and Peeta had emotional chemistry, I’m not sure why but I just don’t see this as much in YA??
      • The world building was really good.
      • The info-dumps don’t feel as info-dumpey.
    • Things that could have been better:
      • The love triangle is just not as well written as I remember it from my first read. I would have liked to have a few more memories of Gale to really cement it in.
      • P.S. I counted how many people die all together and I’m 90 percent sure it’s just 21, not 22… Does this mean SOMEONE ELSE SURVIVED?? Dun DUN DUUUUUN.