• I love Gauri, why is she so cool *sobs*
  • Remembering the plot at the end of The Star Touched Queen is proving difficult.
  • They’re going to discover they’re alike when they believe the other is spoiled and I LIVE FOR THESE STORIES.
  • Vikram is SO obnoxious, omglob, there’s no reason to be snippy just because she thought you hadn’t asked.
  • I’m kind of confused by Gauri’s choice, she doesn’t have to eat the fruit to escape the cell because Vetala said he knows how to escape the cell didn’t he?
  • Queen Tara is terrifying, can we get a book about her next?
  • Someone assassinate Skanda, my gosh he’s disgusting.
  • Vikram’s comments are so brooding it’s hilarious.
  • Wait, they’re back in Ujijian, does that mean they’re in the human world again?
  • I couldn’t imagine carrying a corpse on my back, but I guess when life gives you lemons…
  • So are the statues on the wheel or on the ground, I’m confused about the placement of the Gods and how Gauri and Vikram interact with them.
  • Ew, I wouldn’t have lasted in this mythical land. A gate of tongues is repulsive.
  • I LOVE boys who blush. Vikrah has blushed no less than 3 times in 3 pages. $50 says he saw Gauri in his mirror in the Vishakanya’s tent during the first challenge in Alaka.
  • I also like Guari escaped the Vishakanya’s tent with her wits and not ex machina. Huzzah!
  • “At least not lust filled directed at her” fight me if Aasha is not talking about Vikram, towards Guari.
  • I thought the answer to the Serpent King’s riddle would be more intangible than “blood.” I was predicting something like happiness or death; something philosophical.
  • Is Guari supposed to feel guilty because she didn’t believe The Serpent King’s story? Or were there other consequences I didn’t see?
  • Aasha, “Maybe [I will see inside the palace].” *Me shouting* NEXT BOOK.
  • Wait, why would the roots from Taksha’s tunic nail HIM to the ground? Did I miss something?
  • I wish the dialogue would be consistent because half the time it’s formal archaic and half the time it’s casual modern speech.
  • This challenge is extremely creepy.
  • I don’t even think the characters want this victor because clearly that would be traumatizing.
  • “Nothing I will not ask” meaning Gauri and Vikram will have to sacrifice each other??
  • NOOOOO VIKRAM IS NOT ALLOWED TO DIE THIS IS NOT A TRAGEDY
  • Honestly I’m a little confused about the whole plot with The Nameless. Gauri and Vikram need the vial to trade Kauveri so that she’ll return both of them to the human world? And The Nameless want it too? I think?
  • OK, so I was wrong, but somehow their sacrifices seem appropriate.
  • That chapter was a nice homage to Maya and her peculiar horse thing (which incidentally is on the cover but sporting a brown coat instead of being stark white).
  • Kauveri’s reason for wanting the Nagi’s poison is everything, I’m crying.
  • I love how “Vikram” his parting gifts from Alaka are: mischievous, yet practical.
  • What? They’re just going back to their respective palaces? I better get closure for this couple. I DEMAND IT.
  • OK, I love that Aasha lives at the palace now with Gauri.
    • Also both Guari and Vikram are petty af.
  • Although both very adorable.
  • Their miscommunication at the end is ADORABLE.
  • I didn’t have a lot to say about the plot of this book other than it was just plain enjoyable. I immensely enjoyed this book more than The Star-Touched Queen. The Star Touched Queen was quite jumbled in my opinion and I can tell Chokshi grew as a writer and a plotter. The writing was equally as delightful and the world charming and visionary, but I was MUCH less confused during most of this book. A few notes:
    • I almost didn’t read this book because of The Star-Touched Queen, but I saw so many people recommend it and say, “If you didn’t like TSTQ you will like this book.” I’m so glad I listened to those voices because it really was so enjoyable and a wonderful story.
    • GIVE ME MORE BLUSHING BOYS
    • A Selection of Birds was a lovely chapter and I enjoyed trying to work out which words were which characters.
    • Gauri is life please (future) children learn from her.