For some reason I didn’t even realize I didn’t post this on Tuesday *sobs* so here it is, even though it’s late. Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s topic is favorite books of 2017. *cries* There’s so many!! Effectively asking me, which is your favorite cat/dog/animal or do you like french fries or sweet potato fries better? The answer is YOU CAN’T. Alright, so I’m breaking it down by category, hopefully this makes sense. Let’s go! You can find all my reviews for these books on my blog (except The Hate U Give).

  • Favorite romance
    When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon is the loveliest romance I’ve pined after in a long time. I saw so much hype regarding this book and it’s exceedingly well deserved. The evolution of Dimple and Rishi’s relationship is beautiful and I’m a sucker for hate-to-love.
  • Favorite fantasy
    A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi was such a pleasant surprise. Like, I said above, love-to-hate is my weakness and I was ecstatic to find I loved A Crown of Wishes. Her previous book didn’t wow me, but this completely did it for me and it’s easy to see how much she’s grown as an author and a writer in between her two books.
  • Favorite LGBTQIAPD+ contemporary
    Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy, while I LOVED Tash Hearts Tolstoy for the ace rep, something deeper resonated with me while reading Ramona Blue. This story about fluidity and change and adapting to that change is heartwarming and you can’t help but cheer for Ramona all through the book.
  • Favorite NA
    Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions by Six de Los Reyes just barely edged out The Hating Game. I loved both so much, but the execution on Beginner’s Guide is what won out. This e-book is small but so well done and I know I’ll read it again. It’s A++++++ material; it deserves all the As!! Nero and Kaya are so perfect for each other, it’s opposites attract; it’s learning about yourself and each other together; it’s NA at it’s best.
  • Favorite trilogy
    The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare is my go to. I mean come on.
  • Favorite sequel
    I can’t even explain the satisfaction I received by reading the finale and masterpiece that isA Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab. It’s everything I want in a sequel. It tied up all the endings nicely and resolved all the plot points. It left me sad and unhappy because it was over, but pleased and looking forward to the next book Schwab will publish.
  • Favorite social commentary
    The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas was eye opening and definitely a challenging read. I also read The Handmaid’s Tale this year, which is an excellent social commentary, but I felt like I learned more from THUG. THUG also helped me recognize and challenge my unconscious bias more than THT, which is why it’s my favorite this year.

Any mutuals? What are your favorites this year?

