• How old is Wilhemina exactly? I’m assuming 16-18?
  • I’m confused, why is Patrick the leader if she’s the (exiled) Queen of Aecor? I mean even if she was young during the One-Night-War, shouldn’t she be old enough to lead the Osprey’s now?
  • How did Will and Tobiah form an attraction/harbor it for ten years/likely when they were both pre-pubescent age?
  • I’m a bit over the “falling in love with the enemies leader/prince” trope. But maybe this book can convince me otherwise.
  • “This person is hosting an engagement party tonight!” Basically says it’s the prince who’s being engaged tonight.
  • So Wilhelmina didn’t press Melanie at all about where she was last night? She just left it at that?
  • WOw, I mean, I’m surprised she didn’t press Melanie for more information, but Wilhelmina is following her. That’s unusual but highly logical given this chain of events.
  • It seems highly unlikely Wilhelmina would have been allowed into this council just like that. It seems more likely the prince/others would simply ask her about the Wraithlands and then inform the others at the meeting without her. It’s not realistic.
  • Tobiah is hella annoying.
  • Black Knife is just goiNg to let the fact she did magic go?? WHAT ABOUT HIS CODE???
  • Like hell Patrick will let Wilhelmina become Queen.
  • “We all wore disguises, and now I understood theirs.”
  • Not a fan of Black Knife “fraternizing” thing. I don’t really get it. And like why is this necessary.
  • Also another “why is this necessary?” The Lake, why is it so essential she figures out what it is? Last time I checked she didn’t need that information to accomplish Patrick’s goal.
  • I have a feeling Black Knife is James, the Prince’s bodybuard/cousin.
  • So Black Knife is fighting with a ton of these guys, how has NO ONE recognized him yet? He’s like famous or something right?
  • I would DIE if bugs attacked me like they attacked Wilhelmina. No joke, I wouldn’t have survived the plague of locusts Moses brought on the Egyptians.
  • I mean, of COURSE James is Black Knife. That’s so 50 pages ago.
  • So James isn’t Black Knife. This is really awkward. I was a little wrong about the identity… Everyone makes mistakes.
  • Well yeah, there wasn’t anything really remarkable about this book. Although notably:
    • She didn’t allow anyone to manipulate her. She has WAY more agency than expected from a book like this.
  • I really thought Tobiah was going to break his engagement with Meredith. Especially since marriage to Wilhelmina now would be strategically more beneficial. Although maybe h’s just trying to honor his father’s dying wish. But I think his father might feel differently about all this if he knew what a marriage to Wilhelmina would mean now.
  • 3/10 would not read again. I mean this book was fine. But nothing outstanding. It’s a fine distracting read. But it feels like all the other typical fantasy books.