Click here to read the first four chapters review! I broke two days before Leigh Bardugo released Crooked Kingdom to us, her readers and worshipers, and it was not enough, but I survived to write this so it was worth it.

  • OK, I know Kaz wants to rescue Inej, but Wyland is right. Inej wouldn’t want Kaz to hurt Alys. Probably.
  • Thank you Matthias, check your jealousy at Jesper at the door.
  • Kaz is worried about what people will think if Van Eck were killed, but people in West Stave aren’t concerned about Van Eck leading a hooded figure???
  • “I couldn’t bear to watch you fall.” (175). BRB I’m crying.
  • Poor Kaz, he’s completely controlled by his fear.
  • OMGOSH, WYLAN’S MOTHER ISN’T DEAD. VAN ECK HAD HER SENT AWAY TO AN HOSPITAL TYPE PLACE.And her person just keeps improving.
  • Matthias is the biggest romantic ever, him describing his “proper” courtship to Nina omgosh.
  • UHHHH, they all have poison. BARDUGO DO NOT LIKE NINA DIE LIKE THIS.
  • It’s only halfway through and they’re already starting operation-destroy-sugar-silos-but-also-Van-Eck!!!!! *nervous fidgeting* eeep!!!
  • Jesper honestly has the most romantic one-liners with Wyland.
  • Yes everyone is like a lock, not just women you sexist bastard.
  • OMGOSH. IDEC about anything else CURRENTLY. INEJ IS NOT FALLING RIGHT NOW.
  • I’m positively beaming. Honestly didn’t we all believe Kaz was going to leave Inej and stay Dirtyhands and instead he goes to find her.
  • LOL, a “young dollop of cream.”
  • NO NO NO NO NO NO. Jesper just killed Kuwei, who looks exactly like Wylan, except not because Wylan looks like Kuwei except shorter and his fingers aren’t the same. THIS IS NOT HAPPENING TO JESPER THIS IS NOT HAPPENING TO JESPER THIS IS NOT HAPPENING TO JESPER THIS IS NOT HAPPENING TO JESPER THIS IS NO
  • “You could love something and still see its flaws.” I think the prejudice against Suli people in Ravka is somewhat under explored, although this isn’t the center of CK, and I like that Inej has not forgotten that and acts accordingly. It would obviously not be something a person could easily forget. Even if Ketterdam is her new home.
  • OMGOSH OMGOSH OMGOSH NIKOLAI IS HERE THIS IS NOT A DRILL THIS IS NOT A DRILL.
  • Genya is the sweetest person. I love how she hasn’t let her injury and trauma affect her permanently, she’s risen above and she’s just amazing.
  • Zoya is as pleasant as ever and she’s such a BAMF.
    • Also, also now that I’m thinking about Zoya (more fully) why does she visit Alina and Mav yearly, but Nikolai doesn’t?
  • WHAT IS THIS. Wylan isn’t actually doing this. It’s a ruse right? The crew has to win in the end.
  • Me watching the Tidemakers/Wylan “expose” Rollins and Van Eck:
    tumblr_mxlwfti5at1qchjtmo1_250         tumblr_mxlwfti5at1qchjtmo2_250
  • I really though Dunyasha was going to end up killing Inej.
  • They’re faking Kuwei’s death. They’re not going to really kill him. It’s just so he can live in peace.
  • IDK about Nina’s claim Kuwei is the best chance for a remedy. I would be my money on Wyland.
  • OMG, Matthias is dying B&B style. I’m not sobbing. YOU ARE 96060623824378432483b36016814674
  • Kaz’s progress in the last 3 months has me hopeful he will change and he and Inej will ride off into the sunset. I’m confident. It has to happen!!!
  • SOOOOOO GOOOOOOD! 8/10 will read again next week. I mean, I’m a little disappointed by the ending. I was hoping Bardugo would write an epilogue like she wrote for the end of the Grisha series. Instead the last chapter is about Pekka Rollins. Not ideal, but also the Wraith was savage af in that last chapter. Really I just wanted more closure. The ending I received makes me think there’s another book because it’s so open.

How did you feel about the ending? What are you going to read next? Because honestly, I’m not sure what…

