I’m a pretty new blogger, so I’m creating my own book tag, because they sound fun but I don’t know a lot of other bloggers personally. Sending out my best vibes and love into the blogsphere.

1.) First book you read in the bookstore

IDK if anyone has ever read a whole book in a bookstore, but I read almost half of one, and then decided I was ripping the bookstore off and left to check it out from the library. But it was definitely Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott. The book summary is absolutely terrifying and completely encompassed my attention. I actually leaned against the bookshelf at Third Place for a good 30 minutes before my mom said it was time to go.

2.) First book you stayed up all night to read

The Lovely Bones. High School. Finally, at 4:30. Coincidentally the next day was the first time I fell asleep in high school ever. Turns out 2 and a half hours of sleep does that to you.

3.) The first book you read as a teen that left the biggest impression on you

I read a couple books that left huge impressions on me as a teenager. It’s a tie between The Handmaid’s Tale by Margret Atwood and Graceling by Kristen Cashore. Two very different genres and styles of writing, but the messages echo the same. It’s probably The Handmaid’s Tale by Margret Atwood. I’ve read that one more than Graceling and I just think it’s so important. An essential in any library and literary career.

4.) First book you read out of your reading comfort zone

There’s kind of two categories in this one. In terms of writing, Pride and Prejudice was completely out of my writing comfort zone, it’s a miracle I finished it to be honest. In terms of content material, Speak by Laurie Halse Andersen was one of the first “grown up” books I’d ever read. It was 8th grade and I just remember feeling the injustice of the world. And also high school.

5.) First book that made you cry

Where the Red Fern Grows completely destroyed me. It was either Red Fern or Order of the Phoenix, WHY DID SIRIUS HAVE TO DIE?? I can’t remember which one, but I remember crying during both of those books and I was young when I read them.

6.) Your FIRST book (as in children’s book?)

My mom tells me it was Blue Hat, Green Hat by Sandra Boynton. Man, she’s amazing. It might have been Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss, who knows. But I do remember her telling me I loved saying the “Oops” part in Blue Hat, Green Hat. That silly turkey, he just couldn’t catch a break.

7.) First Adult Genre Book you read

I’m not sure if The Lovely Bones is considered adult, but if not, it was The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, which I adore and would read again 100 percent. It completely tore me apart. Restitution and redemption are the key themes in this book, although there are so many. The characters have so many depths and the plot twist at the end will leave you in shreds (not to mention tears). I read it in 10th grade and finished it weeks before the class got half-way through. You could say I was committed.

 

And that’s it! That’s my book *tag*. PLEASE PLEASE participate, anyone and everyone is welcome—book blogger or not, and tag me so I can read all your book firsts!

 

 

 

