• If I could have a jacket like Kell’s, all would be right in the world.

• So is Holland an archenemy, friend, or both?

• I didn’t expect Kell would be royalty as well as Antari, though I guess I should have expected that.

• OK, so Holland is either archenemy or both.

• Please let Lila not meet Kell by stealing from him.

• Now that we have a description of White London, Lila is in Grey London. I’m guessing.

• I just looked at the cover and though of something. The two circles are obviously supposed to represent Londons. But can Kell go to Black London even though it’s destroyed? Also, is the reason he’s leaving Black London and going to Red London. Or is it supposed to symbolize he came from Black London and now pledges his allegiance to Red London. QUESTIONS!!!

• Oh! Finally an interaction with Holland. Yes, I’ve decided. He’s definitely an archenemy.

• Sick. The Danes’ are so sick, no wonder they’re on Grey London’s throne.

• It’s always gotta be the one thing that isn’t ~supposed~ to matter that actually does matter.

• I knew that’s how Kell and Lila would meet. Interesting how she though he was drunk. I mean technically he drank that night but

• And now there is magic in Grey London again (the stone). Will it burn to the ground as well?

• Barren Tide, Barron and Booth. It’s hard for me to keep them all straight!

• Wow, I definitely though it was Booth’s shell that would be sitting next to her. Not Holland. He knew somehow about everything that happened in Grey London with Kell, how though?

• How does Holland know Kell’s there? Oh, right, because he always smells like flowers. What does Holland’s magic smell like then?

• Power: The universal poison; the universal drug.

• Oh crap, someone’s going to track Lila using that knife now aren’t he/she?

• It’s like a coup! Astrid and Athos are taking over the whole kingdom.

• Tell me Lila isn’t going to lose the stone/other artifacts while she’s getting dressed. But probably not since it’s so close to the end of the book.

• I’m so glad she saved the ~day~. I mean they’re not out of the woods yet, but they are at least not with Astrid. I’m frustrated by the the fact that no matter how strong a heroine is described, she always ends up being “saved” by the man anyway. BUT! So far, Lila has completely proven herself and stayed true to her character 💯💯💯. 

• Please get a grip Kell, I know everything is going to pieces, but you won’t be able to fix anything with that attitude.

• Lila’s totally Antari. That’s how EVERYTHING is going to be fixed. Well, by “everything” I mean getting out of Black London, but by the description it might as well by synonymous with “everything.”

• This lack of romance. It’s SO refreshing. Tell me you’re not loving it too. I truly believe in Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, and if you can’t even feel safe, you definitely can’t think about romantic love.

• The Dane’s garden is like White Witch’s castle in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. All I see is Mr. Tumus frozen as a statue.

• When Rhy, “shuttered then fell still,” I definitely thought that meant he died.

• So excited excited for the next one! I simply can’t wait. Good writing, a good story, and an unexplained, but thoroughly interesting magic system. I look forward to learning more about how it works in later books! 8/10 would read again (and recommend)!

 

