• So they both ended up soldiers?

• That means things are not going to be OK.

• So definitely a rivalry between Mal and Alexi, but Alexi is way more likable on the surface. Jealousy, my favorite topic to read about.

• LOVE the description of The Fold.

• Well alright then. No rivalry I guess.

• Love interest in the black robed Grisha then?

• Is the girl in blue so important she can ridicule/speak out of turn like that?

• Both feared and revered, that makes sense.

• Every time I read Mal’s name I wonder what he said and why he kept it from the Darkling. AND if the Darkling is so powerful, does The Darlking know Mal kept it from him and why??

• How do people spend so much money on palaces and perfectly manicured lawns when their own people are starving?

• What a class system we have here.

• No national pride whatsoever, come on guys.

• Marie seems mildly fake to me.

• An amplifier is obviously what she needs since she can summon light when she’s in contact with the Darkling.

• I can’t shake the feeling it’s her AND Mal together who that is the most powerful.

• OK, so I guess she can do it on her own. So is Mal an amplifier then?

• So what’s up with the Darkling? Honestly.

• I guess it’s easy to become vain when you’re around so much luxury.

• HE’S JUST YOUR REBOUND. I mean, a handsome, powerful awesome rebound, but a rebound nonetheless.

• There’s something very disconcerting about a confident kiss like that (especially if he’s never show interest in other Grisha, though obviously he could have had flings with other women. From history we learn men in power always do). Like shouldn’t you be shy af?

• What is wrong with him? The pressure to reproduce or something?

• Why do people not care when they are being physical with others.

• In perfect lust.

• OMG what is going to happen with MAL???

• A general fight and addresses feelings. Nice. Servant: interesting comment.

• I knew it. He’s trying to get her emotionally attached so she can’t refuse to help him. Otherwise he’d reject her and she’d be crippled from the attention. Oh, and she’d be his literal servant.

• Okay, so he was important, just not in the magical way.

• If that wasn’t a tribute to Harry Potter, I’m done.

• Girlfriend, Mal isn’t going to stand trial. The Darkling is keeping him alive because he’s going to let a volcra eat him, you’re going to watch and you can’t do anything about it.

• Called it.

• So they’re at the fold now, it’s getting close. But what about the “missed message” in her dream, when will we get to know about it!!!???

• I knew it, and this is really interesting to me, because it’s similar to Harry Potter. What he was capable of, Voldemort never was able to do. What Alina possess, The Darkling also will never have. Love and mercy respectively.

• Well, onto the sequel. I think I might actually die if I don’t read it soon.

• Also, there’s still lots of unanswered questions…

• 6/10 would definitely read again.