• Not sure what I expected on reading the first post, but it wasn’t this. I normally don’t really enjoy reading about the west, but I’ll give it a try.

• Settling into a pretty fun read.

• I love that BOTH the main characters are POC and women. So rewarding to read about.

• OK, that situation could have been a lot worse, but it was still terrifying to read. Props to making a MC who fights back, but I also can’t help but think of all the girls who didn’t.

• Cayenne Pepper? This has got to be a joke. THAT’S SO FUNNY. I love it.

• I can’t tell who the love interest is, but I kind of like it… It’s nice not having something so obvious and in your face.

• Even though I didn’t know her father, I still am in love with him. Can I be his daughter? The amount of education she received; even if it was a little unrealistic back then.

• Cay is the biggest flirt to have creeped or crawled upon this earth.

• So what would have happened if they lost the bet and then had to sing “Yankee Doodle” without their pants on?? Obviously it would have been crystal clear they are not men.

• The MacMartin boys had such a bad vibe around them, even before that hideous racial slur. Honestly, you only have the brain power to come up with a petty racial slur for an insult? I feel like racial slurs are some of the laziest ways to insult people. You don’t have a comeback, so you just call someone a name.

• Can you really sense what gender people are if you’re a mid-wife? Also, Mr. Calloway isn’t going to tell anyone about Sam and Andy as long as his wife has anything to say about it. Which I’m guessing, she does.

• I really like the relaxed way Lee writes. She certainly moves the plot along, but she also takes her time with the plot. Her writing invokes this sentiment: “Before you know it the character development is over and all of a sudden they’re completely different.”

• Ommmmmm goodness, their kiss was probably about unromantic as possible, but still the most action she’s received so far.

• West is the absolute WORST. Also reading it from her POV was quite interesting, because she assumed Sophie was being assaulted. She’s so pure.

• It’s rewarding to read about a book with so much Chinese culture infused in it, even if this is the last setting I would expect to find someone Chinese in.

• OK, so this cholera thing is making me really nervous, because the amount of book I still have left to read is such that they could survive or die.

• Also, I had to look up both filly and quirley in the dictionary. But the dialogue around “filly” was appropriate for the definitions of “gay” and “woman.” So I have no idea which one he thinks. Rare as a blue moon to find someone who accepted the former back then.

• I wonder what the survival rate of cholera was back then?

• So now that they’ve all survived, what going to happen with the rest of the book, because there’s not much left…

• Very clever with the paper. I was completely worried about Sammy getting caught. I didn’t even think about what the other faces might mean to the other characters.

• Also, can the Brother’s just die?

• IS THERE A SEQUEL TO THIS THING?

• Oh jeez, she’s fine. She’s (probably) mostly naked and hanging on a rope in a cave, behind a waterfall. But she’s fine. What a curve ball.

• I kind of liked how this book ended. Kind of like a movie how a conflict is resolved, but you know it’s just a string of never ending conflicts. A bit like life, and very open ended.

• 6/10, I’d probably read this again. It was really fun. But I’d probably skip the assault scene.

