• So these “ship” guys have magic of their own? Like different than Grisha magic?

• ONLY the beginning??

• So how is Sturmhound going to be important?

• I don’t remember her saying anything about feeling lonely, just weak because she wasn’t using her power, is that the same thing? Maybe. DUN DUN DUUUUN.

• I knew Sturmhound wasn’t bad!

• Haha! Tamar and Tolya DO have magic!

• So she will use the scales then.

• I’m completely smitten by Sturmhound.

• It could be the queen!!

• Yes, I expect power is the downfall of our MC.

• He’s not— He’s not the rogue “rebel” second(?) prince is he?? OR Alina’s long-lost brother???

• Mercy, definitely the overall theme of this. Like Love was the overall theme of Harry Potter. Also I understand her feelings about the Volcra. Even though you should want to hate something, you can’t help but feel sorry for it.

• I KNEW it! He’s the second son who’s basically a “traitor.” What should I call him now? Sturmhound, Nikolai, Prince, Charmer, Manipulator? So many choices.

• Also interesting politics we have going down here.

• Will she want Mal later? Who knows? As far as I’m concerned, all they have in common is nostalgia.

• Which means he won’t be coming around.

• I was for Nikolai, now I can’t be so sure.

• Mal is the biggest hypocrite to ever walk inhabit this solar system.

• Watching he fall apart is heartbreaking and unnerving.

• The attack isn’t going to happen at the mansion is it?

• I still cant’ tell what Zoya is all about.

• As she’s up there, she’s going to see The Darkling isn’t she?

• OK, so that kiss was bad, but imagine if they would have actually been able to talk about it.

• She probably started this riff between them when she started keeping secrets. What’s all this talk about “belonging” places. WE decide where we belong by what we do and how we act. I think Mal would have been fine at the palace as long as she was actually spending time together. Also, reflecting back on the book, it doesn’t seem like he has that much faith in her (“I wonder if you’ll want me when this is all over blah blah” and such). And she doesn’t seem like she’s trying that hard. Like I know it’s hard to share secrets, especially when you think you’re going mad, but seriously. All the times he asked, she NEVER answered.

• YES! No ball because people are literally STARVING. I’m completely for shipping Alina and Nikolai now.

• Idiot. WHAT’S GOING TO HAPPEN IN THE LAST BOOK NOW???

• No. I do NOT believe Tamar and Tolya are traitors.

• YES! I knew they were good!

• Okay, so they did betray her. Just not like she though.

• I don’t even know what to say. Definitely for me it was an unexpected ending, but I guess not? Now that I think about it, the Apparat has always been there? But maybe there will be the type of ending similar to Hunger Games.I just want to believe in that. So some seriously politics with the Apparat? Who is he actually loyal to? He’s had to struggle and claw his way to power. So would he take orders from Alina? I’m beyond ecstatic for the next book. I just have to wait like two days.

• 6/10, would definitely read again.

