• Why is there an “l” in Lincoln, it has to be derived from another language because no rational English speaker can justify spelling Lincoln with an “l” and no “h.”

• The plot is really intriguing, but idk if I should feel offended for Beth and Jessica.

• Beth is justifying her loser boyfriend living with he without a job because apparently “his rent” and “the rent” are the same thing. The hell they are. He’s playing you.

• Lincoln is kind of basic. Also if his last girlfriend was in high school… How old is he now? Did she scar him? I’m sensing a scaring here. Please let me be wrong.

• I want to be Beth and Jennifer’s best friend. They remind me of sisters.

• Wait, who’s Chris? I thought she was dating… *flips back to look* Oh. Well, that just shows you he doesn’t matter. Chris doesn’t care his gf is crying when he comes home and just goes to take a shower. I need him to disappear from this book right now.

• The number of references to oldies in this book is amazing. So far “Jack and Diane” by Billy Joel and “Henry the VIII” by Herman’s Hermits.

• Man, he actually took Eve’s advice. I also like Eve. I also love the fact that Rainbow Rowel’s female characters are all realistic women, some professionally successful and some personally. But they’re all successful in one aspect or another and that success becomes the center of their character. That doesn’t mean they’re flawless, but it’s not something normally afforded to female characters. Even Sam, who is only there in memory, who knows if that’s how it really happened.

• His mom’s assessment on money is spot on (page 32), but I still don’t like her.

• He’s a momma’s boy, and she’s exacerbated it. I think I have him figured out so far; he wants to be taken care of.

• It is scaring.

• Beth and Jennifer are like Rory and Lorelai in their written forms respectively.

• Ah, 1999, where showing your neon bra straps was cool.

• Yes, walking past Beth’s stall does constitute as stalking.

• I always assumed Lincoln was skinny with (perhaps) a runners build, not I’m ashamed I let pop culture influence what I thought about a fictional character who up until now, knew nothing about his physical appearance; except that he had brown hair and was big and 28 years old.

• I really like Christine, she’s great and has a good moral compass.

• Beth is as cracked as Lincoln, well not as, but close to.

• She’s just as cracked. Maybe a little more.

• Pro-tip, don’t leave any evidence. No matter how many times you want to read something or save something. For heaven’s sake don’t put it in your wallet for someone to find. HONESTLY.

• Ew, no this is not happening. Lincoln and Dorris?

• Don’t let this be a fight scene, not at the concert with everyone, probably Beth watching.

• Is talking to your baby a thing?

• Why do bad things happen to good people? I love Jennifer so much. Honestly the person I feel the worst for is Jennifer.

• LINCOLN GOT AN APARTMENT! He’s so grown up now! Also he cleaned up the evidence, good for him.

• I’m so glad they met again, I would feel so incomplete if they didn’t.

• She is at the theater. Right now. Was this planned???

• Oh my gosh, she is taking this way better than I thought! I can’t believe this worked out in their favor. Also, yes to Sleepless in Seattle, she was hella creepy. I don’t care what you say, flying across the country to meet a guy who doesn’t know you’re coming is not normal.

• I love happy endings. And not needing space in relationships. Isn’t that the whole purpose of being in a relationship or being married?

• 5/10 I loved the plot, I would probably read again. Love to see this portrayed as a rom-com.