• Okay but what’s is Winnie burying?
  • Raj:
    break.gif

    • I guess it really depends on what terms you break up under
  • Wait, is she burying her Bollywood movie collection???
  • OH. She’s burying his movie collection haha. I mean this kind of passes the zone of rational thought but…
  • I love her so much though.
  • Hmmm… what’s the bad blood between Raj and Dev??
  • Okay, but Dev is actually kind of cute even though he’s being a bit arrogant. Admit it.
  • Ahhhmmmmmm I can’t tell who Winnie has more chemistry with, both of their dialogues are filled with tension. Though the things coming out of Raj’s are so much more terrible.
  • UM BUT THE DIALOGUE IN THIS BOOK IS DYNAMIC
  • Ahah!! They’re going to become so close by working together at The Rose and then she’ll find out his name actually starts with an R but he goes by a different name. Huzzah! Bye Raj.
  • Mr. Reece is the embodiment of problematic geek culture don’t @ me
  • “Destiny would come up with another solution to her prophecy,” YEAH LIKE DEV
  • I just want everyone to recognize the sparkling lyrical poetic line that is the end of chapter 9: “In that brilliant and sparkling moment, Winnie realized hat no Bollywood romance could have ever prepared her for Dev Khanna.”
  • Also I don’t like that Raj only texts her when he’s jealous. Yeah yeah, but Raj refused to text her and now that HE feels like he needs to talk she has to answer…
  • “‘I think we’re destined.’
  • ‘If that’s the case, then you wouldn’t try to change me.’”
    • UM YES. FINALLY someone finally puts this in a book. On page.
  • This book has all the right elements. The drama. The romance. The ambition. I mean, so far it’s just absolute perfection.
  • “‘Your doucheweed ex doesn’t know what he’s up against. He may have the prophecy on his side, or so he thinks, but so do I.’” DEV’S. REAL. NAME. STARTS. WITH. AN. R. Just saying.
  • But for a minute there, I thought there might have been a prophecy Dev’s mom had about him before his dad left them.
  • Okay but the passing comment about “trying” grocery stores is so real. It’s so hard to find a good East Asian grocery store in a small town/city. If there’s more than one I have to think, okay can I get X at this store, or do I have to drive 30 minutes and go to the other one?
  • DEV IS GOING TO GET THE PERFECT SILVER BRACELET FOR WINNIE OMFG (166)
  • Okay I’m not really a fan of big gestures, I was cringe reading this part because I’m a private person. But I’m happy she’s happy. The whole night sounded so magical and fun.
  • Hmmm, how to prove it wasn’t Dev…
  • I think the excuse of “I can’t take down the investigation without being in power” is weak. But I get that she doesn’t need to quit.
  • WHY ARE ALL THESE PEOPLE EXPECTING HER TO CHOOSE HER FUTURE OVER A GUY COME ONE.
  • 7/10—Okay so I really loved this book. I loved the writing, it was so engaging and so… alive. Like I felt so much of Winnie’s emotion with her and I loved her for it. I loved an ambitious character who doesn’t let other people control her future.
    • I really loved how insistent she was on recognizing Raj’s problematic behavior that she change her entire life/future/dreams just to be with him.
    • I loved her interactions with her family. Even though they were only in a few scenes, I felt like they were fully fleshed out and I had a good look at them.
    • Two things I didn’t really like in this book: The main conflict with her friends at the end, where they get mad at her for not backing out of the chair position felt a little messed up to me. I don’t really get where they come off for getting mad that she doesn’t give up an application builder at the very last minute. She worked this entire semester for this and at the very last moment, she has to give it up. I don’t know. Everyone was acting like she had to give up her involvement in the film festival, but that felt messed up to me.
    • The other thing is, and this actually irritated me—and kind of made me not like her, In the epilogue, she “berates” (exact word) Dev into going to NYU with her in the fall instead of a different school. And it’s like… that’s exactly what Raj did to you why are you doing it to Dev??? I felt like that was such a jerk move and she’s being such a hypocrite. I mean maybe that word was chosen for hyperbole and comedic effect, but it feels obnoxious and inconsiderate. Anyway…
    • To end on a positive note, overall this book was so fun and made me want to watch a Bollywood movie and enjoy some A+ rom-coms. I’ll definitely be reading Sharma’s next book!