• So there’s not a lot of context at first, but I’m not confused? So Yay?
  • Not a huge fan of the writing. It’s kind of mediocre IMHO.
  • Obviously Scarlett and her sister have been severely abused by their father. It’s good it’s part of their character.
  • Also a  prediction, the person Scarlett sent the note to is going to be a childhood friend (possibly a love interest) he/she is going to come with Scarlette and Tella to Caraval and then Scar’s fiancee will also happen to be there.
  • Oooooh, yes! That was much better and a female character with agency, good good.
  • “There’s more to life than staying safe.” (39)
  • So Legend is the love interest then? Mentor? Older Brother?
  • If the Island of Dreams smells like citrus, it’s main export better sure as hell be oranges.
  • So Julian’s the love interest then?
  • What exactly is Julian’s connection to Caraval and Legend? He seems to know so much about the game, master and island.
  • OK, was invading Scarlett’s personal space REALLY necessary?
  • Oh, OK. So Julian might want to share a bit more info with Scarlett since he’s played the game before.
  • The scene where Scarlett says, “don’t look at me like that” reminds me of the scene between Anikin and Padma. You know the one.
  • OK, flipping every time Scarlett is in danger, she ends up being saved by some man. For once I’d like to see her do something herself.
    • Most redeeming quality: love for her sister
    • Downfall: Doesn’t know what she wants, no bravery
  • Hmmm… Legend is Julian. Julian is Legend. Is this going to be one those “she’s different” things and Legend/Julian is going to have a 180º turn?
  • She doesn’t have enough time to change but she has enough time to examine her hair? How is this relevant to the plot?
  • How did Scarlett’s father get in? Unless he was here from the very beginning he should’t have been able to get into Caraval. OR Legend let him in. dun dun DUUUUUN.
  • How about some more questions Scarlett? Like:
    • How did you know about the passages?
    • Why did you punch Dante on the stairs and tell me to stay away from him if you’re friends? Why did you call him “trouble”?
    • How did you know Scarlett and Tella would be invited to Caraval so you could enter with them?
  • Oh, OK. There’s an explanation for some of it. *mumbles under breath*
  • Why is Scarlet just given the clues now? I thought they wouldn’t be easy? She was already supposed to receive a gown? This is madness!
  • Why didn’t Julian just jump with her?
  • Ahhh, that’s why. Wow, that’s some solid planning. How did Julian pull ALL of this off? Including the stuff with Tella?
  • For some reason, I’m not feeling the proper amount of anger at Julian for this betrayal?
  • Oh my fetching gosh. This all just seriously happened?????
  • Well I do love happy endings. Although I feel like forgiving Julian was a little too easy. I’m thinking his “electric touch” and kissable lips did a bit of the talking.
  • 5/10—I really like this concept. I heard so much hype and I was able to stay away from spoilers and also reading the summary. All I knew is it was about a game so that was pretty exciting. Do I think it was a good story. Absolutely. Do I feel it needed more polishing? Absolutely. Will I read the next one? YES because Tella still has her debt to payyy!!! Also a couple more, random, things:
    • First and foremost, this book receives a big ole goose egg on the diversity scale. So that was a quite disappointing.
    • I didn’t like Scarlett very much. She seemed quite superficial, I didn’t always quite understand her reasoning and it was explained super well. But I do appreciate her character arc because she finally learns to make decisions for herself; I like her character development. So a YES on the character development.
    • Again with the polishing thing, here’s a couple of distinct examples on why I felt it was a little lacking:
      • When Scarlett and Julian were on the carousel Scarlett didn’t feel dizzy.
      • On Castillo Maldito, time is supposed to move differently, but if the time Scarlett spent on this island doesn’t affect the plot why does it matter?
      • The game rules were a little unclear. Like each clue is supposed to lead to each other? I would call that a scavenger hunt. I guess I was expecting them to gather all the clues and then put together the mystery of where Legend was hiding Tella, but instead she has to find all the clues and then the last one happens to lead her to Tella? IDK, it was a bit unclear.
      • Scarlett and Tella’s mother is mentioned at the beginning, but serves no purpose? Why mention her at all?
    • The world building was a little unclear. The rules aren’t explained until the end (dying in the game isn’t really dying). Magic does as magic pleases.
    • I didn’t really feel the chemistry between Scarlett and Julian. Like I’m happy they know how to touch and kiss each other but the only flirty/quirky thing I can remember about their relationship is that he calls her “Crimson.” Which could also be seen as really rude. So IDK.