Heaven bless the people of Goodreads and what they’re doing. I’m so glad there’s a way for me to be organized about reading. Goodreads has helped me in numerous ways, the least of all helping me remember what books I’ve read and also my endless TBR.

The other day (last month) I was browsing around Goodreads looking for the name of a character in a book that I can’t remember now because it was last month. I looked at the details and realized this main character (a woman) was listed after the love interest (a man). And I remember being so confused as to why this happened. So I did a bit of digging. I was curious if this applied to many books. I deliberately choose books with female protagonists. This is what I found:

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-24-07-pmscreen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-24-17-pm

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-24-56-pmscreen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-25-03-pm

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-29-02-pmscreen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-29-11-pm

screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-30-38-pmscreen-shot-2017-01-15-at-3-30-45-pm

For crying out loud, Clary (we read from her point of view) is listed al the way at the bottom after Luke who has like 7 lines total in this series (I’m exaggerating but you feel me).

  • Note: If you like these series, this is not a stab at them.
  • Note: At first I was like, there’s some serious unconscious bias going on here. Which there very well could still be.

But then, I looked at books with male protagonists.

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-7-16-26-pm

Let it be known The Boy Who Lived is listed underneath Oliver Wood, Parvati Patil, Dean Thomas, Lavender Brown and Garrick Ollivander.

Screen Shot 2017-02-05 at 12.03.49 AM.png

This may just be my organizational heart speaking when I say I AM NOT OK WITH THIS CHAIN OF EVENTS. But I also don’t know how to fix it? Like, where would I even begin? Is this the kind of project I should be spending my time on?? Who knows. Apparently (I reached out to Goodreads on Twitter), Goodreads librarians edit/add characters and anyone can become a librarian I guess. So that’s cool!

Also I realize this isn’t as much of a discussion. It started out with a discussion when I looked at books with female protagonists, but then I decided not to make it a discussion and just to share my observations. Is it just me who’s bothered by this/noticed this? Does it bother you minor characters are listed before main characters? Or is this just a personal problem?? Let me know in the comments below!

