• The more time I spend reading about monarchies, the less I want to ever be a princess. Being Katherine sounds terrifying
  • Also, can Genevieve not? “You just gestured to all of me” yes I did.
  • Also, Pietyr *swooon*
  • This world building is spot on. Every sentence is crafted and built with the intention to deliver information. This is what I’ve been waiting for! (I’ve been in a slump). Although we’ve spent only 20 pages with both of the Queens, I have a clear idea of what the world is like and what life is like in both of their places of residence.
  • Arsinoe is that like ars-e-no? Or how do you pronounce her name? I really like her character, she’s much freer in spirit than Katherine.
  • Let this be a lesson to me not to base everything off first impressions. All aboard, the Pietyr ship is setting sail in precisely 5 seconds!!! He’s just the same as the rest of the Arrons.
  • I’m really confused by Jules’ punishment. She had to help deliver the triplets to the queen, but weren’t the triplets (Mirabella, Katharine and Arsinoe) like 11 at the time? Is this another set of triplets? Do Queens only ever give birth to triplets? Also how could she help give birth? She’s not trained as a mid-wife? Or was she talking about in the future she has to help her?
  • Did Arsinoe throwing the charm in the fire mean Jules and Joseph WON’T get together???
  • I predict Mirabella has some weakness, just like Arsinoe and Katherine.
  • Rho is the most annoying fruitcake. But I called it. Katherine doesn’t actually want to kill her sisters.
  • This is like one of those books where you’re like, can I care about these characters? THEYRE ALL GOING TO DIE.
  • I have really mixed feelings about Pietyr. He’s smart, and he actually does care about Katherine. But at the same time, she can’t know about all the conversations he has with Natalia behind her back.
  • Also, how is it that the poison from Sweetheart will only cause Pietyr’s hand a little redness, but it will make Katherine sick for days? Even though she’s the Poison Queen and builds up immunity to many venoms too?
  • OK, so Jules is uncomfortable with going further than kissing. Why doesn’t she feel comfortable with TELLING Joseph about that insecurity. Why does she keep is to herself and use a physical barrier (Camden) as an excuse?
  • I actually thought the storm was going to be a way Luca and the rest of the priestesses were going to find Mirabella because it would cause her to use her gift. But this is an interesting twist.
  • Ahhhhhh HOW COULD JOSEPH. I don’t care if she danced the tango while dangling whiskey in your face. LITERALLY HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO JULES.
  • I just don’t know what to say. Like I was supposed to LIKE Joseph. I really don’t appreciate my hopes and ships being burned to the ground.
  • CAN ANYONE IN THIS BOOK BE DECENT???
  • Jules is riding to find Joseph because of course she is and she’s going to find Mirabella and Joseph in the woods. Alone. Cosied up with each other. And she’s going to know. And then everything is going to hit the fan and it’ll be worse than 52 card pickup.
  • Well it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be…
  • I’m concerned because both camp Katherine and Mirabella are preparing for the worst and trying to find a way around an ~impossible situation~ but Arsinoe’s supporters are like *throws up hands* she’s gonna die nothing we can do to stop her being killed. Which is really terrible and why isn’t this being commented on more?
  • Billy is goals.
  • “When will you forgive me?” I feel like this question speaks volumes itself. She doesn’t owe you forgiveness. Who knows when she’ll forgive you for cheating. Like whenever the eff she feels like it.
  • How is it the poisoners were able to get away with cheating for so long? I mean someone had to call foul at some point. And after hearing Katherine is so weak, they can’t believe she’s going to be able to eat 2 tons of poisoned food.
  • 7/10 The last 50 pages were a whirlwind and I honestly thought everything was going to pieces and then JOSEPH IS A LITTLE RAT and TWO Queens were cheating and Pietyr PUSHED Katherine into the Breccia Domain and Luca knows Natalia cheated AHHHHHHH. OK, deep breaths. I need the sequel.
  • THEN THE TWIST AT THE END AND SO MANY QUESTIONS!!!!
    • How did the mid-wives mix up the triplets? How do they know which one is the naturalist, poisoner and elemental? Is there a test to know who is supposed to go to which part of the island?
    • Can there be 2 poisoners queens?
    • How did Katherine survive? Did Pietyr not throw her down, or did she somehow cling to a side? Or did she see the bottom? And if she did, WHAT IS THE BOTTOM???
      • And if she did see the bottom, how did she get back up? OR DID AN ANIMAL HELP HER UP?? LIKE HER FAMILIAR???
    • If Arsinoe (is it a coincidence Arsinoe shares the same prefix as arsenic??? WAS THAT FORESHADOWING???) is a poisoner, does that mean Katherine is actually an naturalist????