• Nostalgia’s hitting hard today. I know Ella Enchanted is vastly below my reading level, but I will ALWAYS cherish this book. And Prince Char, of course.

• I also see a lot of Ella in myself. Namely, the disdain for being bossed around by someone else.

• Char is so blatantly obvious. Like dang boy. You know what you want. Like looking at a gravestone near the tree Ella’s under, that just so happened to be his “cousin’s.” Sure Char. Sure. I mean, he’s pretty genuine so I’m sure he is related to the person.

• Sir Peter is completely impudent. Honestly, “A fine affair” and “your mother was beautiful.” I take issue with his existence in this book.

• Mandy’s magical book!! I forgot about it!

• I listened to this book on tape, and bless the woman who read for it. I don’t know how the voice actress managed all the languages, especially the non-human tongues.

• I love Ella’s friendship with Arieda in large part because friendship is often pushed under the rug in favor of romance. There’s a lot of books with great romance plots and lots of books with great storylines focused on friendship. But I’ve noticed lately in a lot, though not all cases, friendships aren’t developed or maintained or destoryed because that’s the way life is. But only given attention if the plot warrants it. And I hate Hattie for destroying it Ella’s and Arieda’s.

• Ella is such a spy. But the parts where she reads letters/journals from her magic book are my favorite!!

• Also, can we just talk about the set up for this scene. I mean Char showing up is pretty unlikely. But we already read in Ella’s book previously he was going to hunt ogres. Huzzah!!

• I just love Ella and Chars’ interactions. He’s quick to laugh, and she’s adorable and unpredictable.

•  I keep remembering parts of this book while I’m going throughout my day and I keep becoming more and more excited to read it again!

• Ew. Sir Peter. You honestly have no honor. Well neither does the Earl of Wolleck! “You are a child!” But then he doesn’t say anything after Ella insists. GROSS GROSS. She’s 15!!!!

• So painfully obvious. Looking for secret passages. He’s S-O-A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E.

• “Warm and comforting and unsettling and bewildering all at once,” almost precisely what I felt the first time I’ve held hands with someone too!!

• His confession letter is just 🔥🔥🔥💯💯😭. When I was like 12, I would read it over and over because it was SO enchanting. I wanted someone to feel the same way Char felt about Ella. It was too much for my young heart to take.

• When Ella turns Char down, I just want to cry ALLLL the tears. 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 x infinity=my feelings at this point.

• HAHAHHA, I forgot about Lucinda trying out her gift! Serves her right. So many things I forgot about this book!

• For some reason, I’ve always loved reading about Ella’s preparations for the ball. Also,all magic aside, Mandy is probably the best godmother anyone could ever have.

• Queen Daria is GOALS! I’ve always found the description of Ella Lela meeting them for the first time amusing.

• I love that Ella breaks the curse. She saves herself and lives happily ever after. As the back of the book reminds me, she’s an intelligent, humorous and assertive heroine. She doesn’t wait around to have her future made, she takes matters into her own hand. Sure she had a little magic, but she does everything in her power to protect those she loves and cares about. Honestly, it’s just so rare to find a character like her. A realistic portrayal who grows and develops along with the story.

• I doubt I cherish any book from my childhood as much as this one. So perfect, even if the reading level is lower than mine. A staple in any library, particularly one where children visit. 8/10, I will never stop reading it!