• Nostalgia’s hitting hard today. I know Ella Enchanted is vastly below my reading level, but I will ALWAYS cherish this book. And Prince Char, of course.

• I also see a lot of Ella in myself. Namely, the disdain for being bossed around by someone else.

• Char is so blatantly obvious. Like dang boy. You know what you want. Like looking at a gravestone near the tree Ella’s under, that just so happened to be his “cousin’s.” Sure Char. Sure. I mean, he’s pretty genuine so I’m sure he is related to the person.

• Sir Peter is completely impudent. Honestly, “A fine affair” and “your mother was beautiful.” I take issue with his existence in this book.

• Mandy’s magical book!! I forgot about it!

• I listened to this book on tape, and bless the woman who read for it. I don’t know how the voice actress managed all the languages, especially the non-human tongues.

• I love Ella’s friendship with Arieda in large part because friendship is often pushed under the rug in favor of romance. There’s a lot of books with great romance plots and lots of books with great storylines focused on friendship. But I’ve noticed lately in a lot, though not all cases, friendships aren’t developed or maintained or destoryed because that’s the way life is. But only given attention if the plot warrants it. And I hate Hattie for destroying it Ella’s and Arieda’s.

• Ella is such a spy. But the parts where she reads letters/journals from her magic book are my favorite!!

• Also, can we just talk about the set up for this scene. I mean Char showing up is pretty unlikely. But we already read in Ella’s book previously he was going to hunt ogres. Huzzah!!

• I just love Ella and Chars’ interactions. He’s quick to laugh, and she’s adorable and unpredictable.

•  I keep remembering parts of this book while I’m going throughout my day and I keep becoming more and more excited to read it again!

• Ew. Sir Peter. You honestly have no honor. Well neither does the Earl of Wolleck! “You are a child!” But then he doesn’t say anything after Ella insists. GROSS GROSS. She’s 15!!!!

• So painfully obvious. Looking for secret passages. He’s S-O-A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E.

• “Warm and comforting and unsettling and bewildering all at once,” almost precisely what I felt the first time I’ve held hands with someone too!!

• His confession letter is just 🔥🔥🔥💯💯😭. When I was like 12, I would read it over and over because it was SO enchanting. I wanted someone to feel the same way Char felt about Ella. It was too much for my young heart to take.

• When Ella turns Char down, I just want to cry ALLLL the tears. 😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭 x infinity=my feelings at this point.

• HAHAHHA, I forgot about Lucinda trying out her gift! Serves her right. So many things I forgot about this book!

• For some reason, I’ve always loved reading about Ella’s preparations for the ball. Also,all magic aside, Mandy is probably the best godmother anyone could ever have.

• Queen Daria is my spirit animal! I’ve always found the description of Ella Lela meeting them for the first time amusing.

• I love that she breaks the curse. She saves herself and lives happily ever after. As the back of the book reminds me, she’s a intelligent, humorous and assertive heroine. She doesn’t wait around to have her future made, she takes matters into her own hand. Sure she had a little magic, but she does everything in her power to protect those she loves and cares about. Honestly, it’s just so rare to find a character like her. A realistic portrayal who grows and develops along with the story.

• I doubt I cherish any book from my childhood as much as this one. So perfect, even if the reading level is lower than mine. A staple in any library, particularly one where children visit. 8/10, I will never stop reading it!

 

