• Darcy is a little rough around the edges, but I love her a lot already. She’s so different than Lucy, but I kind of love that too.
  • HER CHEMISTRY WITH TOM IS OFF THE CHARTS
  • Wait, HE HAS A FIANCEE??
  • Someone tell me this isn’t a cheating book. I really like Sally Throne and I don’t want to rage review her so I want to quit while I’m ahead.
  • I mean I know Jamie is supposed to be like a relatable antagonist, but he just really seems like a huge asshole.
  • Darcy’s not the easier to work with sometimes, but I think Jamie is equally if not more inconsiderate.
  • How long are they going to flirt while he is engaged?!?!?
  • What is back, is Thorne’s quick wit and iconic voice.
  • Also to be fair to Darcy, when Tom confesses his love, I mean it’s not really like it was a clear time. I mean she was leaving and he just said, “Because I love you”. Like obviously her “I know” is to be kind of expected in that situation. It wasn’t even clear that he was trying to confess!! Maybe she just didn’t register the tone or something, but I did not interpret that as a romantic “I love you.”
  • Now that I’m at page 100 what’s clear is Darcy has a warped perception of herself, and Tom is hiding a lot more confessions than the “I love you” one when he was 18.
  • WE WAITED 118 PAGES TO FIND OUT TOM VALENSKA IS NO LONGER ENGAGED I AM OUTRAGED
  • Good universe, she completely lost it now that she knows they aren’t together wow. No wonder he panicked. No wonder he prepared and was like NO DISTRACTIONS, like sec and Darcy.
  • I love Truly a lot. I hope she gets her own book sometime.
  • Wait, Truly is deffffffffffinitely crushing on Jami.
  • Darcy’s a powerhouse and even though I get that she did help. I also get that Tom’s annoyed that she did step in.
  • THEIR BANTER IS ACEEEEEEEE
  • “Not all sludge hammers are created equal” I die
  • I mean Sally Throne doesn’t have a lot of sex scenes. But her dialogue scenes are hot enough. There’s always a quip, something to toss back and after the dynamic is established it never wavers unless it has to. That bathroom dialogue scene was delicious and hot and their banter was off the charts.
  • A date?? Oooh la la!
  • I don’t know how to describe the scene at the bar but it’s REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEALLY working for me.
  • How does she miss that when she asked “who would you approve of” and he says “no one” it’s because he means “no one else but him”??
    • But seriously how is she so dense sometimes?
  • How does one even walk with two arms around another? Logistically speaking I can’t see how it makes sense.
  • They’re just so cute together I love them, I ship it forever.
  • I KNEW IT, TRULY AND JAMIE 4EVER—they seriously need their own book.
    • #giveTrulyandJamieABook2024
  • HE SHOWED UP FOR HER HEART APPOINTMENT ***AIR HORN BLOWS***
  • I just love them. I love the ending and how they get together (which doesn’t admittedly feel as natural as Lucy and Josh). But I love it all the same.
  • 8/10—I think a lot of people wanted this to be another The Hating Game and it just really isn’t that. It’s its own story and I love it for that. I like Darcy’s humor, she’s got a lot of heart even if she comes across as a bit blunt. I also love the resolution with Jamie. Their forgiveness and falling back together was a little rushed, but I’m also not really mad about it because my relationship with my sister was a lot like that sometimes.
    • I think the emphasis on self-growth and standing on your own feet is excellent in this book. Thorne is really good at putting deep underlying themes in her books and I’m here for it. Please let her write another. We’re rooting for you!!!