• Okay but from how this reads, I can already tell I’m going to love this book. I had a bit of a time figuring out if we’re reading from Arthur or Ben’s perspective because I didn’t read the title of the first page like a silly person.
  • Arthur is the most clumsy awkward adorable boy of the year.
  • “Or I could demonstrate [that I’m gay] in other ways. God. I would happily demonstrate.” And that’s straight Albertalli right there. This is everything I was expecting from a book written by both of them together.
  • Don’t you think it’s kind of ironic that Arthur is complaining about the summer interns adults calling him a “kid” while he simultaneously calls them “girls”?
  • “And Pa just doesn’t like being that far away from Ma,” my heart is melting
  • I love how enthusiastic Arthur is. He literally jumps off the page, demands your attention, and tells you you’ll both be eating chocolate together.
  • Literally? Just no. Arthur’s not hanging that “have you seen me?” poster up physically in the coffee shop, is he? With the picture???
  • Lol exactly. Dylan, no one wants to be Ron.
  • “I guess that’s any relationship. You start with nothing and maybe end with everything.” (148)
  • I’m worried Arthur is hyping everything. Like a lot a lot. He’s so much like Dylan haha. I also think Ben isn’t giving Arthur the patience he gives with Dylan and maybe that needs to change. I also think Arthur is a little oblivious to things hat obvious matter to Ben, and I don’t know how to fix that because how do you tell someone to just become more observant but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯. I find solutions to problems, I don’t make them happen.
  • The fact that they’re not hitting it off super well means there better be some really flipping cute scenes in the coming pages. We’re not even halfway through!!
  • I mean I want to believe that Arthur is going to be rational about Ben seeing Hudson at summer school. But for the sake of novel, I know it can’t. I weep.
  • Also, I know Jessie and Ethan are dating and tried to tell Arthur during the last FaceTime call but they got distracted talking about Arthur and Ben.
  • Ah and here it is. We almost forgot Ben didn’t tell Arthur about Hudson being at summer school. But now it’s tragic and horrible and they’re not together and I kind of wish this book was 150 pages longer so we could draw this out a little. It would have been nicer for Arthur and Ben to have more time dating because 2 weeks because it would feel less like insta-love. But who am I to talk Ms. I dated my husband for six months and then got married four months later?
  • No no no. Arthur is spiraling.
  • Oh shit. Now Ben is spiraling too. They’re both obviously miserable. I’m so sad for them T_T
  • I mean I kind of love Dylan even though he is very intense and definitely has no sense of calm
  • “I’ll meet you in the waiting area in ten seconds. Don’t be late.” I mean out of context this means nothing but it’s so flirty and so dorky and so Arthur.
  • I mean the ending was so heartbreaking and it’s so sad when Arthur leaves and Ben is still there and he literally leaves Ben to just walk in and try to pass this test. My emotions are raw. I can’t feel anymore.
  • The epilogue. They’re going to meet right? I mean RIGHT? RIGHT??! I feel sad for Jessie and Ethan yes, but I mean what about Arthur and Ben and yeah it’s a little sad to side-bench the other characters but. Arthur and Ben.
  • I love how they’re so close and such good friends and clearly want to be together but are actually being rational human beings.
  • WHAT THE FUCK. WE DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT HAPPENS IF THEY GET TOGETHER OR IF—WHAT ABOUT *THEIR* FUTURE???
  • 7/10—I had to knock two full numbers off because of the ending. I’m livid right now. I just talked to someone and they were like “Same but after I had time to deal with it, I was content with it.” And I hope I’m headed that way because I’m so dissatisfied right now.
  • Some random thoughts to throw at you:
    • I’m still bitter about the ending. I don’t know when I’ll stop being bitter but I really want to sequel. Like I said on Twitter, I know Albertalli and Silvera don’t do sequels but maybe they could make an exception for this one.
    • I saw someone called it “disaster gays” and honestly I can’t think of a better description than that.
    • I really love their dynamic and how the two of them really make each other better. Can we have more wholesome couples like that?
    • I honestly can’t contain my heart. It just makes me so happy and I WANT MORE TIME WITH THEM. This is the longest book either of them have written but I feel like it’s the least concluded and satisfying. The ending is what really killed it for me.
    • In the epilogue: Arthur’s heart flipping when Ben wrinkles his nose. Ben always looking at the picture of him and Arthur on Arthur’s birthday.
    • Did I mention I’m bitter about the ending?
    • I love that this book is centered on second chances and hope and what might be waiting for you in your future.
    • I kind of loved this book for the realistic aspect and how they parted ways on a good note. I was like “OK different than most YA endings but I’m okay with that because *turns page* GUESS WHAT WITCHES THERE’S AN EPILOGUE”. So they (and in turn we) will get gratification that it was right for them to be sensible and wait. And then Arthur’s part ends and I’m like “OK???” Then I turn the page and I’m like, “WOOO jokes on me because there’s Ben’s part.” And then it just flipping ends. Like WOW. There’s absolutely no closure like wtf? I AM NOT OKAY because it didn’t even end on like a great last line. You know how some books do that and it’s all ironic and poetic and shit and it ties back to the beginning. I feel like it was a weak line to end on too. You can tell I’m really upset about this lol