• Oh I love how diverse this book is already.

  • TW: racism, racial slurs

  • Jamie has unflinching honestly when she’s her self (see pages 9, 13)

  • UGGGHHH high school boys are AWFUL. Don’t EVER take me back.

  • I love Jamie’s sense of self and her voice. It’s perfect and she has this unequivocal dedication to humor, and it’s humor that isn’t dedicated to putting people down.

  • Sheehan is 💯💯 like she’s so on top of things.

  • And her father is frustrating in his traditions. But tbh, his thinking (other than the sexism) is pretty much in line with mine.

  • I can tell already this email guy is Timothy. Their banter is ADORKABLE.

  • If I wasn’t sure Timothy was John before, I’m ABSOLUTELY sure now that they’ve been in detention together.

  • Jamie and Bilal hanging out with each other is THE BEST.

  • Sometimes it’s hard understand people who want to go to dances because it just never appealed to me. I’m not a very confident person when it comes to waving my hands haphazardly so dances were just meh. Thinking back to other experiences like when my mom didn’t let me go to a friend’s house and my other two friends went together bring me back though.

  • 7/10—This review wasn’t very long but this really was such a great book! It has so much heart and so much to do with being comfortable with who you are and who your family is. I loved Jamie’s arc and how she came to love herself for who she is and not what she thought everyone wanted her to be.