• It’s important you realize I was constantly was thinking of this cover of I Believe In A Thing Called Love by Branches, while reading this book:
  • This book sounds so sweet and lovely. I already love how fun and free the writing is!
  • Desi has the most adorable relationship with her father.
  • OMGOSH YES K-DRAMAS ARE NOT EVEN IN THE SAME UNIVERSE AS SOAP OPERAS. THERE’S A HUGE DIFFERENCE!
  • Gather thyself, omgosh. That’s the best “get yourself together” phrase ever!
  • “Hello, Hollywood casting directors who think there aren’t any Asians with star power? You need to go to Korea.” YESSS
  • The steps for getting LOVE do follow Kdramas, but none of those things happen in real life. That’s why they’re dramas, haha.
  • OK, I’m 1 million times with Fi on this one. Desi is kind of out of control and a lot of those rules seem borderline harassment (like the ones with “obsession” in them).
  • Okay, yes. Actually this is turning out to be just like a kdrama. She joined art class for a boy, yes. That’s very kdrama.
  • Wait, did she SERIOUSLY do that?? She undocked the boat? This is really sketch, and also makes me really uncomfortable. I’ll let it slide I guess?
  • HE’S ON PROBATION?? And now this for trespassing??
  • Ouch, yeah. This conversation with Violet is really yikes. Like they both have stuff in their past that hurt them, and circumstances beyond control. But I also kind of like it. It’s the most depth we’ve gotten from any characters so far.
  • OK, do not stop at GO do not collect $200 just go straight to jail and stop there. She actually set up a stunt with nails in the road and everything???
  • It’s so cute Luca thinks Desi’s room is cute.
  • OK, so this is where I took a break from the book. After that stunt I was COMPLETELY DONE. I just needed a break.
  • OK update: 2 months later, I’m determined to finish all the books on my “on hold” shelf.
  • I know in my heart, I have much less patience for this story now. But I still really like Desi as a person (not withstanding her questionable choices in high school. But I mean we all had questionable choices in high school).
  • I actually really like them as a couple. They fit together well. And I love that he finds the stuff she thinks is odd about her, endearing and cute.
  • RAMEN YES. This is the way ramen is supposed to be appreciated and revered. With LOTS of other stuff in there (besides the noodles). Americans have been poisoned into thinking ramen is nasty.
  • I like that Violet is becoming more of a permanent character in the story. Obviously not as permanent as Fi and Wes because they are actually quite absent, but still.
  • His dad actually seems like ~not~ an intentional douche, just like an oblivious father???
  • I can’t believe she’s giving up her interview. I mean yes, I understand she wants to be there for Luca, but HE WOULD UNDERSTAND GIRL GET A GRIP.
  • Ummmm, I get loyalty and everything, but Luca’s mom is being petty and judgey af. Like can you not please?
  • Well yes, we know this would come to this eventually: where Luca discovers all the stuff about the steps to a relationship. But also comparing someone to your ex. That’s not cool.
  • As this is her first relationship, I understand her behavior. It’s hard to get over someone, especially when everyone seems to be getting together.
  • It’s so touching that Violet calls Desi, Hye-Jin now.
  • BOYS OVER FLOWERS YESSSSSS
  • Wait, I don’t remember the end of BOF, and now faking that she’s drowning is NOT funny and I can’t believe she’s doing the same thing over again, did she not learn from anything before? UGGGGHHH.
  • Moral of this story is be yourself and be willing to take chances and you’ll get the boy. Like if Desi had just been forward with Luca and herself, they would have ended up together.
  • 4/10—OK, I don’t want to bash on this read. Know it might be for you, but I think it wasn’t for me. It was hilarious and so funny and I loved some of the themes and underlying messages it said about family. But on the other hand, some of the actions (THAT LITERALLY ENDANGERED HER AND LUCA’S LIFE) drove me nuts. Like no matter how you look at it, it was manipulative af and I’m happy because I’m a sucker for HEA, but I hope she’s learned from it.
    • I see so much of myself in her. I have all these super unique quirks about me that I want to hide from people. Her behavior was border line obsessive compulsive disorder in some ways; which I identify with.
    • At the same time, I am so frustrated and outraged by her actions. Like her plan quickly moved from odd and endearing to dangerous and really not a joke. I really wanted to like this book. I’ve watched Asian dramas since I was 14 and LOVED them all. Yes, this was like a retelling of all those Asian dramas mixed together, but she INSTIGATED all of the ridiculous events. Like Luca was absolutely right, it’s INSANELY manipulative, but she gets a free pass and get out of jail free card because “love”? WHAT???
    • Stories in this book I would also like to read about:
      • Desi’s mom and dad’s love story, that was adorable af
      • Seeing Violet and Desi become friends/see their relationship change
      • Fi and her family dynamics