• But yes, this is what the dark does to me, even in my own house: “But the thought of other people led immediately to insistent, unwanted images. And fears. Fears that lived at the edge of her consciousness and seemed to take physical form.”
  • I was really excited to read this book, but this guy is a POS. Disgusting and the MC just takes it. Vee’s even interested in this guy. Movie: 1 Book: 0
  • Yeah, I like the movie first dare better where she has to kiss someone.
  • I resent the portrayed thought that Seattleites are tech savvy but don’t have fashion sense.
  • I like Tommy in the book better. They made him look obsessed in the movie but in the book he just looks like a ultra nice guy.
  • Ian has equal amounts of charisma in the book as the movie, but he did a better first dare. I can’t help but compare ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
  • Haha purity promisers. The plot thickens.
  • Would people really scream if you asked them for a condom?
  • I thought maybe I would have the courage to do a dare, but now I know for sure I wouldn’t. Especially with the prostitution one. I just don’t have the confidence for it.
  • Ian’s flirting is… not great. His one liners are not that impressive.
  • Damn, the book is a lot darker. I can see why they changed the movie so much. Doing the final dares wouldn’t have been possible.
  • Ah, so we finally have Vee realizing she’s profiting off entertainment
  • I guess we’re about to find out what happened to her in the parking garage…
  • Also why are none of the contestants made out to be even semi-decent?
  • Hmm… I see where this is going. Seven handguns, no one would have guessed (who hasn’t see the movie).
  • Shit. This game is effed up. I can’t believe people would pay to see this. Or even watch it for free.
  • Fetch, that little rat Tommy. And we thought he was “SO NICE”
  • I like the commentary with the last line. The last line implies it might be over now, but it will never be over, not really. Further the fact that a stalker can find her and still knows where she lives and (still presumably watches the videos) gives the correct impression that nothing on the Internet is really private and everything in the Internet is extremely permanent.
  • 4/10—So, you’re probably wondering why I gave it such a low rating. I felt like the MC was not that likable and I found it woefully underwhelming when it came to impact. The potential for this book was so good and it was just a flop. The movie took this book and transformed it, in the best possible way. Seeing the movie first does somewhat influence my opinion. In no way am I impartial just so we’re all clear. YOU SHOULD ALL WATCH THE MOVIE!!
    • The main issue I had is that it just kind of lacked any kind of moral. This book (like the movie, I told you we’d get into it) had a little thing at the very end, but it lacked the emotional punch the movie had. The movie had all these amazing things going for it (which I will discuss in a moment below)
    • I like that Syd was more of a person in the movie. In the book she’s just kind of washed out and underdeveloped.
  • Things from the movie I liked
    • So one of the things the movie comments on is the people who get hurt for a dare or hurt during a dare. Like they have to annoy someone so much they get slapped. This is a blatant fire at humor culture in the United States. Shows like candid camera and AFV might seem innocent, and I admit I thought they were too. But increasingly as I’ve grown into my adult years, I realized I really fetching hate them (particularly AFV) because they’re so damn awful. Someone who tries to jump into the pool but slips on the concrete and bonks their head or tries to climb a ladder but it falls over. We never see what kind of injuries the person sustains after the camera is turned away. It’s profiting off of someone else’s pain, for fun. For no other reason.
      • Book theme execution: 3/10. We have (if I remember correctly) three sentences where Vee talks about how it’s sick either she or people are watching NERVE for fun.
    • I would say the definition of Internet culture is funnier, cleverer, one upping. That’s what social media is in a nut shell. How many likes do you have, how many followers? And in that respect, the more followers you have, the less privacy you have
      • Book theme execution (on privacy): 8/10. Privacy is actually a theme in which the book did much better than the movie. After all, the first chapter is about a famous player who craves it.
    • A theme that goes hand-in-hand with Internet culture is anonymity and the movie hits this theme hard. Every Watcher signs into NERVE anonymously, films anonymously, and comments anonymously. No one is EVER held accountable because they can’t be. No one except Nerve has the true identity of the person, and obviously it’s in NERVE’S best interest to keep everyone anonymously. The very end scene where Vee and Ian meet for the last dare hammers the nail home as every single one of the Watchers are wearing masks. It’s only until Tommy runs the program that reveals every person’s identity that everyone signs out and the game is over. Suggesting that anonymity is the enemy of accountability, and further order.
    • Tying into anonymity, even if you’re “just a Watcher” you are guilty. This theme hits home as even the people who didn’t vote for Vee to shoot Ian are sent a message saying they are an accessory to murder. Even if you’re not someone who voted “yes,” you stood by and let it happen. I thought a lot about this especially in tangent with the 2016 election. Everyone was quick to blame the media and to say where we went wrong, but only after it happened and people were like, “FETCH, he’s actually the president,” did anyone stop and think about how we all gave the media views, which is why they kept covering him. We all caused this. There’s no one person to blame. By spending time poking fun at him, we gave him hundreds of thousands of dollars in free advertising, even if it was quote “negative.” As War Games pointed out (one of the first video game movies), the only way to win the game is to not play it at all.
      • Book theme execution: 3/10. This theme really wasn’t that present in the book. But it was still relatively there.
