Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s category is throw back. I decided to do books I read while in my youth and either have or need to read again. I’m having a hard time remembering what chapter books I liked growing up. It’s been far too long since I’ve read my childhood books. Maybe that will have to be my next project.

  • Junie B. Jones by Barbra Park
    Hilarious and sassy af before it was cool, you HAVE to listen to the audiobook for this one. No one is funnier than Junie B.
  • Holes by Louis Sacher
    Pen. Dance. Ski. To be completely honest I still think about Mr. Pendanski and how dirty he was done in the movie. Mr. Pendanski was the boys GREATEST champion in the book and they turned him into a bumbling fool in the movie. My only complaint. Also Gus from Psych is Sam, you’re welcome.
  • Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
    I read this most recently and it’s STILL SO GOOD. If you read my blog you know I love this book. Don’t @ me about the movie unless it’s to bash. I don’t care if Anne Hathaway learned to sing because of it they butchered this movie, I don’t make the rules.
  • The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
    I didn’t understand the religious symbolism until a teacher told me about it when I was like 14. I just thought it was an epic fantasy story. Either way, it’s a classic.
  • Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
    Come on, this had to be on this list.
  • The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
    I barely remember this book, but I remember it being really good. Challenging prejudice and all that.
  • The Giver by Lois Lowery
    I read this recently and it’s still SO good. It’s so simple and the message is timeless. Just read it.
  • Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech
    I literally remember NOTHING about this book. But I know I liked it enough when I was young to read it twice.

Any mutuals? What did you like to read as a child?

