Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s category is related to books that you had a hard time with. I’m choosing books I didn’t finish. Unfinished, Dropped, DNF’d it’s all the same! Here’s some books I just couldn’t get through. I will warn you many of these had to do with writing.

  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
    For some reason I just didn’t like the writing style of this book. It was a combination of the character (which I didn’t love to begin with) and the fact that I had a hard time picturing everything and orienting myself in the world.
  • Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalo
    Too much gore. That’s all I have to say. I’ve particularly sensitive when it comes to violence and the autopsies were way too much.
  • First & Then by Emma Mills
    I found nothing endearing or exciting about the characters of this book. I found the main character hypocritical and frustrating; she didn’t seem to value anyone except her one (boy) friend who treated her like crap. This is supposed to be a Pride and Prejudice retelling?
  • Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta
    This book was ever perplexing. It was supposed to be a book largely driven by characters but it was infuriating how irrational Finnikin is. He practically spends the whole time whining. Plus then there’s the plot. I didn’t even know what was happening half the time.
  • The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
    I just felt like starting out this book was a cold mess. Like what the heck is going on? I also didn’t like the writing style, no one’s surprised.
  • The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
    I didn’t dig her writing style for her adult books. It was completely different than Harry Potter in a bad way.
  • Every Day by David Leviathan
    I’m not sure what it was, but I just wasn’t interested in this book. I think if I tried it again, I would like it. I think it was mostly because there were books I was more interested in reading and the writing style didn’t totally jive with me.
  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doer
    Idk just like nothing was happening? Like we’re a while into the plot and I do NOT dig extensive descriptions. I kind of felt like he was trying too hard for his writing style.
  • Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
    Talk all you want, I still maintain this play is dull as doornails. Yes it’s timeless, I’d be happy to read a good retelling of it, but I didn’t like William Shakespeare’s writing; I fell asleep while reading it.
