• What exactly is Robert doing with the open window. I understand what is happening in this scene, but I’m not understanding why…
  • How does Minnie NOT see Robert from behind the couch?? Like IDK how anyone could miss that.
  • UUUUUUUUUUUGGGGGHHH Gardley and Ames are PIGS. Nothing like men who think they’re entitled to sexual satisfaction this early in the book…
  • I’m having a hard time imagining this scene. Is Robert standing in the windowsill and that’s why he’s above Minnie?
  • Minnie’s tongue is sharp as razors. “One man dictating my whereabouts is enough, wouldn’t you think?” SHOTS FIRED!!!
  • Ahhhh, Robert is the one distributing the pamphlets about workers organizing. PLOT TWIST.
  • I would be a terrible chaperone back then. I would ALWAYS try to listen in on conversations, especially if it were my friend and I had NEVER heard her talk about the Duke of Clermont before!
  • HER MIND IS SO SHARP SEND HELP FOR ROBERT
  • Their banter is EVERYTHING THOUGH
  • SWOON, I love Robert already.
  • Wait, so Robert is older than Oliver even though technically Oliver is the one born out of wedlock?
  • “I don’t care what she says, his father had growled. She wanted it. They always do.” Such charming male figures in this book.
  • “My name is Willhelmina Pursling, but you can call me Hell.”
  • STOP Robert is absolutely smitten; he can’t help it and he’s adorable.
  • Poor Doctor Graham likes Minnie as well but he never stood a chance against Robert.
  • Robert and I are the same!! I always think of things to say after the argument is already over!
  • “God, I want you.” HOT DAMN what a confession.
  • “She needed to look down” I just listened to Les Mis and *sobs* Minnie is an inspiration to all of us RIP all the women in the world who had to deal with jerks and the patriarchy.
  • OK, so she dressed up as a boy. Is there something extremely scandalous about that, and I just don’t understand at all?
  • “In the end, Minnie, take me.” STOP I’M DYINGGGG he’s so tender.
  • See, what the Dowager Duchess of Clermont is saying. The issue is how she’s saying it and in what context. She wouldn’t seem so villain like if she approached this talk from a different way but she’s basically Lady Catherine De Bourgh from Pride and Prejudice.
  • Well… at least the Duchess is honest about who she is being right now.
  • Stevens can go die in a hole for all I care; he needs to be stopped.
  • NO STOP MINNIE; be like Lizzie Bennet. CHOOSE LOVE.
  • I’M sobbing. Why is the world so cruel? JUST BE WITH HIM.
  • Him getting his cuff stuck on his hand is so cute and strangely intimate.
  • Honestly about the pain of sex, YES.
  • They’re communicating about sex and what they like/what hurts and why isn’t EVERY sexual experience in books like this???
  • So this sex scene isn’t what I’d call erotic, but it’s definitely descriptive and explicit. I didn’t read most of it.
  • *over PSA* Stevens please report for the trash can. You’re needed there.
  • This is awful, why is this HAPPENING right now after they already had their “HEA???”
  • NOOO STOP why is he doing this???
  • Noooo, and on top of lying and exposing Minnie’s secret he’s going to make sure she’s there??? BOOOOOOOOOO
  • Part of me is still FURIOUS Robert didn’t confide in Minnie because she’s supposed to be brilliant, and why couldn’t they work out a solution together? But I guess the story must go on sigh…
  • YES DEMAND RESPECT. I’m glad she called him out for not consulting her.
  • 7/10—Overall SO enjoyable. This is my first Courtney Milan book and I’m so glad I finally gave her a try. It was so rewarding!
