Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! Wow it’s good to be back! I was in Iceland for a couple weeks and Seattle for another, plus TTT took a break! It’s been a while since I posted on the blog! Anyway, this week’s topic is top ten recommendations for _______. I’m picking YA fantasy recommendations for adult readers. I know a lot of people who like fantasy, but a lot of the adults I know don’t read YA fantasy. YA has A LOT to offer in terms of fantasy. There’s some good and some bad, but as with everything, fantasy is subjective. These are some of my favorite YA fantasy books I think adult fantasy lovers will like. For these, I’m mostly choosing YA fantasy where plot is forefront and romance takes a back seat, as it typical with most adult fantasy books. Alright, let’s go!

  • Six of Crows duology by Leigh Barduo
    This book comes at my highest recommendation for everyone. It’s just such a crowd pleaser. The cast of characters is spectacular and it is completely plot driven. Enough fantasy, but also enough of the real world to have an emotional, real life affect on those who read it.
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
    This is probably one of the most intense books on this list. I was literally clenching my teeth while reading this book. The tension is palpable. I would recommend this book to anyone. The world building is incredible and the writing spectacular.
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
    This book is so humorous, and despite being a graphic novel is honestly for everyone. It’s a clever plot featuring hero-villain dynamics. Stevenson’s style is goofy enough for little kids, but the humor is old enough for adults. It’s like a Disney movie.
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
    The Night Circus is beautifully written about a traveling circus; for those who need more plot driven books, this isn’t the right choice. But if you do like writing driven books, this is perfect for you. It has a little more romance than the other books on this list, but there are a few other plots going on; so it’s not all romance.
  • Graceling by Kristen Cashore
    Also another book featuring more romance, Graceling is a great choice for anyone who is looking for a super-power type fantasy book. Set in a mythical world, Graceling is completely character driven. It was probably one of my favorite fantasy books when I was a child after Harry Potter.
  • Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
    But I mean who could talk about children’s/YA fantasy without mentioning Harry Potter. Harry Potter is iconic, and you would actually be hard pressed NOT to find an adult who hasn’t read Harry Potter. But nonetheless, Harry Potter is iconic and classic.
  • Throne of Glass #1-2 by Sarah J. Maas
    I like to think about this series as a mini Game of Thrones. It’s high fantasy with creatures and politics and kingdoms. The first two books do quite a good job with this. I wasn’t a huge fan of #3-4, and the books became more drama ridden as the series went on. But the first two are at least enjoyable.
  • This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
    Victoria, or V.E., Schwab is one of my favorite authors, and this Romeo/Juliet minus romance esque fantasy world full of monsters and shadows is perfect for someone hunkering down for a good read. The second half of the series was published just in the last couple months, so you can binge with a conclusion in sight.

What do you think? Any YA fantasy books adults should take a closer look at? Let me know in the comments below!

