Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s topic is related to Father’s Day. 90% of father’s are pretty much non-existent in YA or contribute to a character’s emotional state (negatively) so I decided to pull a twist and picked characters from YA I think would be good fathers when they have children! This is going to be similar to my mother’s day post because not everyone is or wants to be a father. Anyway, I like to think all characters would be good parents (to an extent), although Cursed Child has shown just because they’re a good teenager doesn’t mean they will be a good father (I’m looking at you Harry Potter). Anyway, let’s go!

  • Jem Carstairs from The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare
    FIGHT ME, he would be the dad to end all dads. He would pass his tenderness and lovingness on to his children and they would be everything to their (if they have) significant others. I’m still waiting for spoiler: a book about Jem Tessa and their life after Jem kicks the Silent Brother life.
  • Nero from Beginner’s Guide: Love and Other Chemical Reactions
    I flipping love Nero. He’s such a good guy and there were definitely times where I was like… “what?” But the thing I love the most about Nero is spoiler: when it comes down to it, he doesn’t let being right get in the way of having a relationship with someone he loves. He’s OK with admitting mistakes and apologizing and making up because his relationship with someone is more important than being right.
  • Blackheart from Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
    Blackheart is such a lovable character despite being the “villain” in his own story. I love how much honor he has, even when he’s the “bad guy” he pretty much acts as Nimona’s father from the time she joins him anyway!
  • Vikram from A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi
    I can just imagine Vikram’s child being sad and down from a bad day and Vikram charming a smile out of them with his wit and jokes. He would be able to cheer anyone up.
  • Alucard Emery from Shades of Magic series by Victoria Schwab
    Admit it, he would be SUCH a fun dad. He has such a carefree and fun daily attitude, but when it comes down to it he’ll go to any length to protect his family.
  • Rishi from When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandya Menon
    Rishi, dear thoughtful Rishi. He’s just so intense and wears his heart on his sleeve and I know any children would love him so much because he loves freely and openly. *sigh* All his thoughtful gestures with Dimple show he would pay special attention to all his children’s little quirks and interests and would definitely encourage them to be themselves.
  • Prince Char from Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
    The thing I admire most about Char is he just tries really flipping hard. Like all he wants to do is be good at his job, and as such he is constantly bettering himself and reflecting on his character. He’s so considerate and has so much love to give.
  • Levi Stewart from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    Levi Stewart was probably one of the first boys I’d ever read in YA/NA where I could actually see myself dating in real life. Most of the books I read contain characters I would not mesh well with. I know Levi would be such a supportive dad; his kids would be like, “I like this” or “I’m like this” and he’d be like, “Awesome! I love it, tell me about it.” Because that’s exactly what he did with Cath.

Well that’s about it, I thought this topic would be hard, but it was one of my easier TTT to write! What characters do you think would make good father-figures?

