• TW: Sex repulsed. There’s a lot of in-depth discussion of sex in this article.
  • Wow, boys who make a move. All the boys in YA now beat around the bush.
  • EW, no tongue on a first kiss, wth is wrong with him?
  • There’s a lot of elipses in this book…
  • 5’9 and 109 pounds? That can’t be healthy…
  • Embroidered jeans. Wow we really are back in the 70s.
  • Wow, what a badass grandmother she has, her grandmother goes to protests and introduces her to planned parenthood.
  • Good for Kath and deciding when she’s ready to have sex and setting boundaries with Michael.
  • I’m pretty sure having sex on your period is possible, but maybe there’s a myth that you can’t? For some maybe it’s just repulsive or unpleasant.
  • On the other hand. Sexual creatures always saying one thing and doing another NO MEANS NO.
    • NO MEANS NO MICHAEL.
      • FOR HEAVENS SAKE.
  • Holy Flip, this book was MAD ahead of its time. With sex and talk of “the gays” no wonder so many people thought it was deplorable.
  • Female and male orgasm, additional realities of sex, and bodily fluids relating to ejaculation. As in they’re acknowledged. I mean, I knew this book was banned, but those 70s parents LOL they were probably horrified.
  • If they just “talk” at Michael’s sister’s apartment, I’ll never eat sweets again.
  • I think the evolution of their sexual relationship is good. At first they’re both fulfilled with manual stimulation. However, when they actually engage in intercourse at first, Kath doesn’t orgasm. And after they’ve had sex more, she’s able to orgasm.
  • I know I’m supposed to sympathize with Kath and be upset she has to be separated from Michael, but it’s hard as an adult not to sympathize and approve of her parents forcing her to go to New Hampshire or where ever the camp is. Yes I agree, Kath could use a change of pace. At the same time, I think they’re a little pessimistic about relationships. My husband and I moved very quickly.
  • It’s hard for me to believe teens actually have experiences like this. I was nowhere near as experienced or satisfied as a teenager. Even as an old teenager.
  • 5/10—There was a review on Goodreads (this is why I shouldn’t look at reviews before I write my own review) that said they didn’t like the writing because it’s “bland and unimaginative” which I have to agree with. The writing style back then was (I can only assume) very different, especially as this is probably one of the first YA books to be written (that’s why it’s considered a classic). Rather than unimaginative, I think it was merely very straightforward. In addition, I think it’s on of those books that’s more of a commentary than a story; and because of that I think I was able to look past the unembellished sentences and lack of descriptions.
  • Also this same review above mentioned how Michael is the “horniest male love interest of all time”. Which would be true. I think because this book was focused so much on their sexual relationship he was just seen as a walking ball of testosterone. Although I do seem to remember some montage paragraph about how they go out every weekend to museums and the movies and etc.
  • Honestly this is probably a book all teenagers should read, simply to educate themselves about sexuality and how it’s OK to change and be fluid and it’s OK to want different things at different times. It’s OK to say no, and it’s OK to say yes. It’s OK to say what you want and don’t want. There is A LOT of sex in it. It’s not flourishing and it’s not romanticized; it’s just really straight forward and uses candid language. I wouldn’t call it inappropriate, but it’s clear what they’re doing and there are some details.
    • Having said that, YA has been making great strides and the conversation around sex is really improving with better representation and better portrayals as time goes on.
