• I love how playful the writing style is, although I might like it more if it was in 1st person.
  • What’s people’s fascination with naming inanimate objects? I seriously don’t get it. Like it’s not living?
  • I actually like Jill as a person, I’m just really curious.
  • But literally the Chemistry with a capital ‘C’ between Jill and Shinta. How was Kim NOT jealous/didn’t like it. Who wouldn’t?
  • Well HA, there’s a history of Kim being jealous of Shinta, the room reeks of it.
  • Yes indeed you don’t stay in contact with someone for 3 years for nothing. Usually people want, at the very least, a platonic relationship out of it.
  • Sigh, jealous boys who break up with girls will be jealous boys. WHO DO THEY THINK THEY ARE?
  • Well yes, I guess I can see why Kim not like the picture, but where does he come off? He broke up with Jill. Through. A. Text.
  • Peking duck? That’s weird they’re eating it in HK…
  • Damn, she’s been dumped by Kim before? WTH?
  • OK, Shinta is obviously the best choice here. Kim doesn’t even seem fazed by the breakup??
  • Technically Kim isn’t abusive, but he’s annoying af. Like he broke up with her once and begged for forgiveness 5 weeks later. Then kisses her after breaking up with her again? This guy and his priorities…
  • TW transphobia: at least the right pronouns were used.
  • Well yes, we all knew how this was going to end.
  • 6/10—It probably sounds from my review that I didn’t like this book. It wasn’t my favorite, but I did enjoy it! A solid 6 for me. I REALLY liked how this book explored relationships and how NA it was, but not a lot of sex. A couple comments:
    • I would have liked to see more of how Kim and Jill grew apart, so like more scenes from like the month leading up to their breakup? Like all we know is he didn’t text her for like 2 weeks. I think it would have been more impactful at the end.
    • I know fantasy is long for a reason, there’s a lot of rules and stuff you have to fit in, not even counting the character dynamics. But I like long contemporary. I crave those small interactions and little instances. This book did a really good job showing us little snippets of Jill and Kim’s previous relationship and then also Jill and Shinta’s current relationships. But I WANTED MORE.
