• AHAHA her password is IhateJoshua4ev@. She’s petty af.
  • SHE KNOWS THE SHIRT COLORS HE WEARS. IN ORDER. I’m screaming (despite not typing this in all caps).
  • She’s a child. Defacing celebrities in magazines and smurf figurines? Who even likes smurfs anymore?? (Sorry if you like smurfs—this book is for you).
  • THEIR. BANTER. JUST READ THIS:
    • “So, painting your nails tonight, desperately alone?”
    • Lucky guess on his part? “Yes. Masturbating and crying into your pillow tonight, Doctor Josh?”
  • Wow, Lucy has some pretty violent tendencies. Strangling Josh seems a bit much.
  • The dream is highly sensual and illicit may I add.
  • Ha. female arousal/masturbation and a boner all in less than 10 pages. I like their banter too much for this book to turn into an erotica. Please don’t let that happen.
  • I’m always fascinated by instant kisses like the one Lucy and Jose participated in inside the elevator. Like does that happen IRL?
  • Life comes at you real fast, apparently.
  • Danny is my kind of guy, too bad he doesn’t win in the end.
  • Jealousy is unbecoming of you Joshua. Danny even sent her roses. What have you done?
  • I KNEW IT. I KNEW JOSHUA ACTUALLY SENT THE ROSES.
  • LOL, well this is a romance novel. Marion romance reader should write one herself though.
  • I love how dramatic they were and how into paint balling they all got. Remember folks it doesn’t matter how childish the game is, adults magically turn back into children when properly motivated (AKA a paid day off).
  • Oh, take care of the sick, she’s going to end up back at Josh’s apartment isn’t she.
  • Well I wasn’t right, but I wasn’t wrong either. Also it makes more sense for Joshua to take care of Lucy at her house.
  • “I love you wall” this is probably the best sentence I’ve ever read.
  • An experiment brother LOL wth??
  • THIS CONVO IS KILLING ME. They’re so tender. Stop, I’m going to be sick now.
  • The Beatles fans hehe.
  • A broom closet, haha. I can’t even imagine.
  • Also Mr. Broxley is a disgusting perv. Can he not?
  • Ha. The jealousy. Just keep standing there watching her and Danny, Josh. I’m sure it will make you feel better.
  • Lucy’s reactions are the funniest. She tries to LITERALLY run away from him.
  • No offense, but anyone looking at Josh’s house would assume he’s a huge douche. I guess that’s kind of the point. But I would love an apartment decorated as per described.
  • 26 papa smurfs is going a little overboard wouldn’t you say?
  • OK, so I didn’t write a lot down for the rest of this book BECAUSE I WAS SO DISTRACTED BY IT. So here’s what I can do (with what I remember).
  • I love their relationship and how Josh wants to take it slow and they just sit and enjoy each other’s company and watch tv (and make out a little) and eat and cuddle and he treats her SO WELL. Get you a man who can do both, seriously.
  • Well there is no funny part about Josh following Lucy to Starbucks, besides the fact she almost screams. However, I can’t help but think Danny is a little dense. Like you have no idea why Josh always looks mad but can tell he’s in love with Lucy and you keep hanging around and making advances on her. ok. OK.
  • Oblivious heroine is oblivious.
    • To Josh’s love and the man in the lobby’s advances.
  • So they’re going to have sex now right?
  • I love how responsible he is. Like he puts his mother before his own desire to have sex. It’s so attractive.
  • HA, she fell alseep.
  • A pink wedding dress? Well it’s not me but you do you.
  • Call me skeptical, but I don’t see what’s so bad about his dad. He just seems like an ass. And I think Josh might be reading a little too much into his dad’s toast. I guess read between the lines…
  • Aw. He’s shy. He really is like Darcy.
  • OK, I would be steaming MAD AF if my sister married by ex [of one year no less!] (honestly my ex is a piece of garbage anyway so I would be against it), also I can’t believe his brother STILL wanted him to be at the wedding… Like what a dick move.
  • I want to hate Mindy, but at the same time, I sincerely believe she didn’t mean to upset Lucy.
  • People are always about “the eyes” like you can see love in them? IDK, I don’t know if I’ve ever really witnessed that IRL… Someone explain it to me.
  • Josh is at the end of his rope with Danny. Danny please exit stage left.
  • Communication is everything.
  • OK now they’re having sex.
    • But not harmful sex. Like they’re talking and communicating, good!
  • WOW, OK Anthony just settle tf down.
  • OMGOSH she’s on a rampage. Someone record it with their phone.
  • HA she told Anthony “it’s been real.” AHAHAHAHAH
    • THE CASHIER OMGOSH
  • His father I literally want to punch and my only comfort is that Josh will break the cycle.
  • Again, oblivious heroine is oblivious. She’s still really thinks he doesn’t genuinely love her?
  • 8/10—I’M NOT CRYING YOU’RE CRYING GO WATCH TWO WEEKS NOTICE NOW FOR HEAVEN’S SAKE. A few notes:
    • Josh and Lucy’s chemistry is off the charts. And not just when they’re making out.
    • Josh is the most tender underneath all his scowling.
    • I don’t think I’ve laughed more in a fiction book than I have while reading this one. My husband literally had to ask 3 times if I was OK because I was giggling into my book at 10pm (spoiler: I was not OK).
    • There are A LOT of tropes in this book. Co-workers turned lovers, cool boy exterior, hate-to-love, but for some reason all those tropes work together in this book and Thorne has masterfully given us a fresh take on them. It really didn’t bother me at all.
    • Ways The Hating Game breaks boundaries and is outstanding:
      • Josh is really neat.
      • Josh wants to take it slow.
      • Josh is genuinely shy.
      • Josh just wants to be loved.
      • Lucy is all for the physical stuff.
      • Lucy eats a lot and yet only in one tinypassing statement does she comment about her body shape/weight.
      • Lucy is assertive and ambitious and goes after what she wants.
      • Lucy doesn’t back away when an asshole like Anthony wants to throw down.
      • BonerS, female gratification and good communication regarding sex (Yes I know I already said that.

Have you read this book? Did you adore it? Let’s chat!

