• OH YES. Heavens above and earth beneath, I ship this. Jem is so sweet. He clearly wants Tessa to feel at home and comfortable here in London.
  • Honestly, that’s a lot of places they’ve visited in two weeks and it’s A LOT of time to be spending together…
  • I REPEAT CHARLOTTE IS THE REAL HERO OF ALL THESE BOOKS.
  • Does the sun really set on the east in London?
  • Yeah yeah, quote Dickens all you want more, Tessa is more reasonable than to believe that attempt to make her swoon.
  • LOL, fake engagements are the funniest tropes. And honestly no reasonable reader believes Jem didn’t spend a great deal of time considering this.
  • Honestly, I’m surprised Starkweather talking about Mortain’s mother not knowing his father broke the law didn’t upset Tessa as the story is almost parallel to her own.
  • Hard to see the “spoils” of Shadowhunters and not despise them. And they’re curious why Downworlders dislike them, LOL, OK…
  • Every time Jem says something very perceptive like,”Only Will calls me James but you did and that’s rather intimate of you don’t you think?” I LIVE.
  • Jem is the best person, honestly. His shyness is so adorable. I akin him to Mr. Darcy at the end of Pride and Prejudice, but better. He’s so understanding and emotionally supports Tessa perfectly. He’s always there for her!!
  • Just in case you weren’t aware, putting chopsticks in your hair for decoration is NOT attractive. It’s just rude and annoying.
  • GIDEON AND SOPHIE ARE PERFECT TOGETHER, no one take this from me!!!
  • OOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMGGGGGOOOOSSSSSSSHHHHHH, yes, “friend” would be a bit of a mild term to use after that scene with Tessa and Jem in his room.
  • Ok, I made this connection too, that Jem sent Tessa away after kissing her. Can NONE of the boys of this book kiss and then just like talk to the person after???
  • Wow, I mean. Mortain has A LOT of time on his hand.
  • With Jem and Will talking like this in Jem’s bedroom, it’s hard NOT to ship them, I admit.
  • I can’t believe Gabriel has held a grudge for 5 years. He couldn’t have been 14.
  • Wow, Jessamine is honestly the WORST. I mean I can see easily how Nate was able to manipulate her. She’s so desperate to be out of the Institute. But seriously??? Marry Nate?? I bet he could have access to her powers now.
  • So Tessa’s a changeling? The plot thickens…
  • I can’t help but feel a certain animosity towards Tessa as she’s kissing Will because obviously she JUST kissed Jem and she and Jem haven’t even talked about it. Obviously he likes her as more than a friend…
  • Yes, yes you shouldn’t be here in the balcony, you should be fleeing and running for goodness sake.
  • Magnus is charming as ever.
  • Tessa does a good amount of reflection, which is quite rare in YA. It’s nice and makes her a lot more relatable. Like she’s confused because she has feelings for more than one guy and does that happen to normal people? Probably? IDK, I’ve never been in a love triangle thank heavens.
  • Wait, Tessa’s mother is a shadow hunter? But then she left the Clave for Tessa’s father??!!??
  • LOL @ Sophie, good for her taking control and restraining Jessamine. At first I was like, “How could she even believe Charlotte would throw her out???” But after further reflection, I realized she’s been so emotionally abused she doesn’t even believe Charlotte wouldn’t fire her for preventing Jessamine from betraying them all further.
  • I really wish Tessa and Sophie friendship had developed and blossomed. There was SO much potential there, for Tessa to grow as a person and for Sophie to become more confident but it fell flat. Sigh, I guess not all YA books can have supporting friendships between women (BUT WHY THE HELL NOT?)
  • Jessamine, I can’t even handle her. Congratulations you’ve graduated from annoying and self-absorbed to deplorable and despicable. I mean, I understood her circumstances a little better in Clockwork Angel. But LITERALLY HOW COULD SHE BETRAY THEM ALL???
  •  Well, I can’t say I’m sorry to see Nate is dead…
  • WHOA WHOA WHOA, SO THE CURSE NEVER ACTUALLY EXISTED?? WTH
  • Oh. My. Gosh. I hereby declare this bachelor of arts in romantic proposals to Jem Carstairs.
  • But now Will is literally going to walk in and see Tessa be like, “Oh shit, I’m like 30 minutes too late…”
  • 8/10—Clockwork Prince is DEFINITELY a step up from Clockwork Angel, it’s like a whole other caliber!! The pacing, the angst, the twists, all the information revealed and the insights into the Shadowhunter world; did I mention the angst?? I honestly LOVE Jem so much, but reading about Will after he discovers the curse never existed is like reading about a child. He’s SO enthusiastic and different. I guess I ship it a little. BUT NOT MORE THAN JEM AND TESSA. JESSA FOREVER. And I also have a few more thoughts:
    • This is probably the first time I’ve ever felt like, “YES, a polyamorous relationship would TOTALLY work here,” that is as long as Will and Jem didn’t mind Tessa being sexually active with both of them. Will and Jem serve very different (for lack of a better word) functions for Tessa. Jem is extremely compassionate and considerate regarding Tessa’s feelings, she feels comfortable sharing any thoughts with him (besides that she has feelings for Will) and describes his kisses as “a breath of fresh air.” Whereas with Will, she has a connection with books and words and they both feel very passionately, she seems a lot more attracted to him sexually than romantically or emotionally. So for her, they fill very different needs.
    • In another branch of thoughts from the previous thought, I REALLY detest how Cassandra Clare wrote this out. I mean its angsty and it’s “fun,” but I really dislike how she romanticizes having feelings for two people. Like Tessa feels bad, but not bad enough to be honest with Jem. If you have feelings for person A, you don’t enter into an engagement with person B. It’s extremely disrespectful to both persons and it’s damaging to yourself. Jem wouldn’t be happy to marry Tessa knowing she has feelings for Will he would be crushed and miserable; I don’t think any of us who favor monogamy would be happy to know another person has feelings for another. Isn’t that, like, the whole point of YA romance??
    • So a constant thought that circles Tessa’s mind is that she can’t have children, but some simple science would clear it up. Maybe it’s just because I’m use to talking about biology and such, and maybe it’s deliberate that Tessa NEVER mentions menstruation (but I can’t help but feel it’s probably just a product of YA NEVER talking about menstruation [OK we’re getting off topic here]). Back at the barn, if she menstruates, OBVIOUSLY that means she can have children because that’s like the female body being like, “OK, I guess we’ll try again next month…” Another thing, although she’s not sure if she’s a Warlock or not, that’s the best guess we have right now and Warlocks change and grow (how old does Magnus look? Because we know he’s REALLY old, but he looks like IDK, I envision him looking like mid 20s?), so there’s a bit of a plot hole in that. Like I assume female Warlocks grow breasts, but if they did that would imply the puberty cycle taking effect in their body? OK, that’s enough speculation, this is why I just read other peoples’ theories.
    • OK, so when Jem speaks Chinese in the book, at first, I found that nice. But it’s frustrating to me because there’s no consistency. Obviously the basis for this is that Jem is anxious and wants to find Will, and for him to slip into Chinese would be fine here. Except this is the only time —he slips into Chinese out of stress. The other times he speaks Chinese it’s (spoiler: “I love you” and “You’re beautiful” to Tessa) not urgent nor necessary. I guess what I’m trying to express is if you’re going to use a language as an identifier for someone, use it consistently; otherwise it just feels like a half assed attempt at representation for a marginalized group.
      • Side note: Geographically speaking in China, it would make make more sense for Jem to have come from the Beijing Institute not the Shanghai Institute because the center of government is in Beijing, while the financial capital of China is Shanghai.
      • Second side note: On the HB cover of Clockwork Prince, Jem is supposed to be on the cover but white washing strikes again as the model simply looks white with black hair.
    • OK, so there was a lot of criticism and side eye at this book towards the end of my review so I just want to clarify and say I do, in fact, LOVE this book despite my issues with it. It’s just amazing and so enjoyable and the plot is intriguing. The ships are totally worth it and just read it if you haven’t. And then come back here and comment!
