• Lol, doesn’t anyone else find Nate’s lie about London being sunny funny? Isn’t London known for its rain?I find it odd that Will would go down to the basement to try and escape. That seems like a rather bad idea.
  • Oh yes, remind me again why everyone likes the “bad boy” yes yes Will go be angsty by yourself in the corner.
  • I’m not even going to talk about how annoying, not to mention insulting, it is that a Londoner was running the Shanghai institute after England made China lose face in the Opium Wars. Yet another Eurocentric perspective.
  • How does one NOT ship Tessa and Jem together???
  • Yes, technically they weren’t breaking the law bringing in opium, but you can bet towards the end they were.
  • Okay, moving on from politics and such.
  • How does one ship Tessa and Will again? He’s insufferable.
  • I have mixed feelings for Jessamine. On the one hand, she’s everything I dislike about a person. Content to passively let life drift along without learning or reading and with a nasty passion for racism because it’s what “society says.” On the other hand, minus the racism of course, my feminism compass tells me she’s allowed to be just like that if she wants.
  • The plot thickens. Everything points to de Quincey, but of course it’s too early in the book, or the trilogy rather for him to be the villain.
  • CHARLOTTE IS THE REAL HERO OF THIS BOOK/SERIES, WILL WHO? DON’T @ ME
  • If the witchlight can light a dark corridor to daylight brightness I wish I had one so I could take bookstagram pictures at midnight.
  • Ah the Lightwoods. I mean, I do like Izzy and Alex a lot more than Gabriel. Apparently the family turned over a new leaf, several times. Since they once allied with Valentine.
  • LOL poor Charlotte against the Clave. It’s like watching a lamb being circled by lions and a slightly sympathetic lioness.
  • Ok, well I will admit all that book quoting was pretty romantic, but I still don’t ship it.
  • It’s kind of rich that Will is telling off Magnus for teasing Tessa when he does that 24/7.
  • Okay, in TMI (the original trilogy), CC didn’t discuss Downworlders and their right much, but I like how the conversation is expanded on in this brief encounter between de Quincey and Benedict Lightwood. And I’m totally on the Downworlders’ side the Clave is awful to them.
  • Lol, Will thinks he’s SO TOUGH. “I hadn’t noticed Tessa is so pretty I just turn up wherever she is nbd.” But everyone including Jem can see right through him just not Tessa because she’s a bit naive when it comes to this stuff.
  • “Like he could see into and through her. But nothing inside her, nothing he saw or heard, could bother or upset or disappoint him.” PRAISE BLESS FOR JEM BECAUSE HE IS THE PUREST OF THEM ALL.
  • Jem: You are that flame which is kindled in my hear right now.
  • UGGGGH Tessa is Nathaniel’s closest relative, not you Jessamine, get off your high horse.
  • How can any of you vote for Will after that glorious conversation Jem held with Tessa on the bridge and he was so compassionate and understanding. WILL WHO? I ASK YOU, WILL FLIPPING WHO???
  • Again, as Jem continues to understand Tessa in the most fundamental way, I ask you WILL WHO?
  • Yes yes, Will and Tessa might have a jolly good time quoting Dickens and poetry back and forth, but it’s JEM who actually understands Tessa and, emotionally, supports and provides what she needs.
  • Damnit Nathaniel. Why do you have to be like this?? All disappearing without a trace and everything.
  • I like cannot take Jessamine’s attitude, can she not, and also vanish off the pages? Anyone who likes her kindly fight me.
  • I spy with my little eye a plot hole in Nate’s story. If de Quincey was really the culprit, the entire Pandemonium Club would be filled with vampires, not other Downworlders because we already know de Quincey hates most of them (I mean we know he hates Werewolves and Warlocks, I can only assume he hates demons since they probably cause problems for vampires and then also fey, but who knows why).
  • Mrs. Dark, the original “forever alone.”
  • Well even if Jessamine was right about the whole situation being Tessa’s fault, which it isn’t, by letting Mortain into the Sanctuary, it’s now her fault.
  • EE GROSS, Mortain is skin crawling disgusting.
  • WHAT NOOOOOO, TESSA IS NOT ALLOWED TO DIE SHE IS THE MAIN CHARACTER AND THIS IS A TRILOGY IS ANYTHING HOLY?
  • This is my favorite kind of ending, and (spoilers for TMI: I remember Cassandra Clare saying she wanted Clary to beat Valentine with logic and not because she was some special snowflake, which I really appreciate.) Clare has Tessa “beat” Mortain with a slight of hand and cleverness. Not because she’s special but because she’s smart. Which I appreciate much more than an ex machina thing. It’s quickly becoming my most hated trope.
  • “There is no future for a Shadowhunter who dallies with Warlocks,” I’m DEAD. ACTUALLY I’M STEAMING MAD I CAN’T BELIEVE WILL SAID THAT TO HER.
  • But what exactly does Will need with Magnus??
  • 8/10- I confess, this is the second time I’ve officially read this book, and I tried to keep my review so that it seemed like it was the first time so even people who have only read it once can enjoy it.
    • A few notes finally:
    • I LOVE Jem as a character. He’s everything a love interest IMHO should be.
    • I really dislike Will, especially after the last 50 pages of this book. Yes, we’ve started to piece together what’s happening. Clearly he has a really complicated past but really. There’s a difference between being aloof and being cruel.
    • I’m so excited to read the second, but I have other books to read as well 😦
