Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s subject is a topic related to authors and meeting authors. I don’t have the opportunity to go to many book signings because I live in a really non-book friendly city. I’ve been able to drive to a couple to see Stephanie Garber and Victoria Schwab which were, absolute treats. I like signing, but I sometimes wish I could talk in depth with the authors. So here are some authors I would like to have lunch with. There aren’t very many unfortunately I could think of because I don’t have a lot of questions for many authors.

  • Margret Atwood
    The Handmaid’s Tale is such a fascinating tale, and talking with Atwood and picking her brain and talking about feminism with her would be so interesting. The Handmaid’s Tale is probably the book I’ve read the most with the exception of Harry Potter (because I listened to it on Book on Tape so many times), and learning about why Atwood decided to write the Republic of Gilead like she did would be so insightful into my next reading!
  • Celeste Ng
    Celeste Ng’s first novel Everything I Never Told You quickly captured my attention and is probably one of the first books where I felt incredibly connected to all the characters. I felt aspects of myself in all of them and the conflict surrounding the family and racism is something I heavily identified with. To have lunch with Ng would be a dream.
  • Noelle Stevenson
    I LOVE Nimona. Noelle Stevenson just seems like a really down-to-earth person. She’s also exactly my age, versus some of these other authors who are much older than me. Having lunch and just chatting with her and hearing about the process of her illustrating and writing her graphic novel would be so fascinating.
  • Heidi Heilig
    Heidi Heilig is an incredibly intelligent person and she has written one of my most recent favorite duologies. So having lunch with her would be amazing. She has so many stories and so much wisdom I know I would learn so much in just one lunch.
  • Victoria Schwab
    If I could listen to Victoria Schwab talk about the Shades of Magic series over lunch I would never need to eat ever again. As I mentioned before, I already have met Schwab at a signing. But I feel like I can learn so much more if she talked more about how she wrote the series. Not to mention I might be able to ask about Kell’s back story which I’m dying for!
  • Stephanie Garber
    I wasn’t a huge fan of Stephanie Garber’s debut (it was OK), but meeting her was delightful. She was friendly and engaging and enthusiasm practically bounces out of her; I imagine having lunch would be so much fun.
