Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s subject is Spring TBR, but I accidentally wrote the topic for next week. So this week I’ll do a topic related to reading in one sitting, and next week I’ll do my Spring TBR. For this list, I’m gonna go with books I flew through. Without further adieu, let’s get started! In no particular order, as per usual!

  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
    I’m sure I’ve blasted on about this book more than once, but I can’t help it. It’s SO good! The wit, the warmth. It’s hard not to love all the characters. I finished this in less than one sitting. Though it be small it’s character development is fierce.
  • Our Relationship Is by Lee Yun Ji
    The most wonderful slow burn I’ve ever read. I really love this manga not only because of the two MC and how adorable they are, but also because I think it’s one of the best childhood friends to lovers portrayals I’ve seen; certainly one of the more unique ones. For example, the two friends don’t stay extremely close the whole manhwa and their emotions go up and down. Just read it. You’re welcome.
  • Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill
    This book was so full of commentary and I was disgusted by the world as the story unfolded. Even so, it’s an important book to read and recognize the themes and understand. I read this book in one sitting and finished it at 4am. So it really was a “one sitting” book for me.
  • Cryer’s Cross by Lisa McMann
    This book creeped me the hell out. A small town, voices, no I have to stop now because I’ll start thinking about it and have nightmares about it tonight. The writing is haunting and there’s tension around every sentence. If you like subtle horror, this is for you. Think the spirit of Coraline meets the real world. *shudders*
  • History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
    Crying, so much crying. The emotions in this book are so heartfelt and so wonderful. And Griffin and Theo’s relationship reminds me so much of my own. They’re silly and emotional and reasonable and goofy. They’re comfortable with each other in a way that displays their emotional closeness in no other way. You’ll come for the author and stay for the cast.
  • Wolf Children by Mamoru Hosoda
    By now you can know I usually get pulled in by an adorable couple. I really can’t resist those little moments and gestures felt between the two. Wolf Children fulfills this for me, but between parents and children. Hana is my hero, and not to say her romance is skirted over either. My husband bought this for me as a birthday present and I finished it the very next day.
  • Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
    I mean, I know it’s not the height of writing. But I just can’t stay away from her books. Clockwork Prince is objectively better than The Mortal Instruments, don’t @ me. Tessa is a better MC, Jem is a better love interest and Will is a better third wheel. Sorry I don’t make the rules. I can pick up any book in this trilogy and end up reading the rest of it in one sitting. Hands down.
  • Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
    Tbh, I actually dropped Six of Crows the first time I read it. But with Crooked Kingdom, I was 100 percent invested in the plot, characters and world. I finished it so quickly and then cried after because it was over. Needless to say, there is no amount of closure that will satisfy me with these characters.

That’s it! What books have you read quickly/in one sitting? Let me know in the comments below!

