In response to #OscarsSoWhite, the New York Times wrote this article on interracial couples in the media. I recently read Passenger (and Wayfarer) by Alexandra Bracken, and it features an interracial couple. Etta is White and Nicholas is Black. I really liked this book. It had give and take and was overall an interesting book. At (spoiler ahead) the end of the book, the couple is STILL together! Yahtzee! One of the reasons I’m so happy to read about interracial couples is because I am one. My husband is White and I’m Chinese-American.

This article was well thought out (as expected of the New York Times) and discussed the history of interracial marriage. It has been barely 50 years since the law to strike down banning it passed. Coincidentally, the film about this case was made last year. And we’ve made great strides in accepting interracial marriage. I believe that. I see more and more books with interracial couples. To name a few:

  • The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon
  • The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
  • Passenger duology by Alexandra Bracken
  • Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
  • Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton
  • To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  • The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
  • When The Moon Was Ours by Anna Marie-McLemore
  • Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
  • Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet By Jamie Ford
  • Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

And to be honest, this is a large list. I’m personally happy I was able to find these just by scrolling though my Goodreads. I didn’t have to look very far to find them on my shelf. But I also actively read diversely. But I also want to talk about something a little deeper. First, a majority of these couples feature a White person, with a POC. Second, the POC is often a WOC.

  • The exception to this rule is when the MC is a White woman. Then she is often paired as an “exotic” but not fully fleshed out, or culturally fleshed out, significant other.

And I know why this is. Historically it was easier for a White man to marry a WOC because of sexism, and yes more racism. When it was a white woman and a MOC, the man was often attacked or threatened.

I don’t think the progress we’ve made with interracial couples is hindered. But multi-racial people exist. There are Latinx-Asians and German-Russians. I think it’s time YA showed a little more of that. Especially since so many of us exist at intersections. It’s time to bring more interracial couples into the mix.

And not just White/POC.

What are your favorite books with interracial couples? Let me know in the comments so I can add them to my TBR!

