• Wylie is kind of annoying. Is there anything she can’t do?
  • The relationship between Wylie and her brothers is sweet, and also I definitely see how they’re close, but it’s also realistic too. I fight with my sister a lot, but we always end up forgetting it after a few minutes.
  • Wow, so Phinn just up and did that? I was wondering if time was going to stop or something.
  • Everything on the Island is so… organized and thought out. I can’t believe it all works. But I guess magic?
  • OK, flippant comments about “offing” yourself are not welcome here in 2017. Please kindly exit stage left.
  • Tinka is kind of a wild fern.
  • Also everyone seems to love Phinn, but he’s clearly more like a dictator than a benevolent leader…
  • OK, making the girls “responsible” and forcing them to take birth control? OK, it’s fine. I’m fine.
  • *whispers* I’m not fine.
  • But I’m also glad Wylie went and talked to Phinn.
  • OK, yes. No kids and all of that buuuuut still, the means don’t justify the ends.
  • “Don’t disagree with Phinn,” “Phinn doesn’t like to be challenged,” now where have we heard that before??
  • OK, I know Wylie isn’t supposed to talk about the Mainland, but there was nothing that said she couldn’t tell people about her home. And why can’t anyone leave after they’ve been there? There’s no consequences. There’s nothing wrong with Wylie telling Lola about the Mainland.
  • I actually thought Tinka was going to be the villain in this story, but she obviously isn’t.
  • This is a dictatorship.
  • I’m not even going to talk about how all the girls were forced into the basement.
  • Well the sex was kind of abrupt, but I guess they’re all teenagers so they can make their own decisions.
  • Wow, I mean I LOVE how much of an agent Wylie is. I thought she might let the matter drop after talking to Phinn and his condescending “I’m afraid you don’t have a choice.” But she actually went and did something about it. And now I’m just really worried what will happen next because obviously Phinn doesn’t like being challenged. Is this going to be a Lord of the Flies thing??
  • Ew, I’m recognizing a pattern with Phinn and Wylie. He’s a control maniac.
  • Yeah, Tinka is definitely not the villain. Is this going to be a Wicked thing where Finn is actually making all these things happen so he can fix it and look good???? Is Phinn the Benevolent Wizard of the Island?
  • I hate how abusive Phinn and Wylie’s relationship is. If I see one person ship them I swear.
  • Is Hooper a real threat then? Or like, what is going on with him?
  • I have to give the author props for making Wylie not take (most of) Phinn’s crap. I just really want them to vote him off the Island.
  • BUM BUM BUUUUUUM, busted. Found the “secret” hideout. I bet he has a TV and all the times he’s “busy” he’s actually here basking in the light of the world.
  • OMGOSH. OMGOSH OMGOSH THEIR DAD USED TO BE ON THE ISLAND.
  • That was such a huge plot twist I have whiplash. Also Phinn sticks to grudges harder than stickers to books.
  • I thought we were going to see Gregory on the Island and they were all going to sail off into the sunset together and whatnot. But I guess we’ll have to wait and see!
  • “When her parents had started dating, Wylie’s mom pretended to like oysters for months, because they were one of her dad’s favorite foods. Those were the kinds of lies normal people told each other, but Phinn’s indiscretion was in the category of its own.” (256). I have a word for “category of its own” it’s called abused. Thank you and goodnight. Also BLESSED for having this paragraph in this book. It’s fine to show abusive relationships, but it’s NOT OK for it to be romanticized. This book was dangerously close to that line, but I’m SO glad this book fell on the right side. I’m glad Wylie recognizes this abusive relationship on page and she says she’s not going back. Phinn and Wylie better not get back together in the next book.
  • Wow, interesting. A good twist, and it feels very true to the original Peter Pan story even though the Darling child(ren) end up siding with Hook. I don’t even know if I’m supposed to root for Phinn at this moment. Yeah, probably not. You can still love someone and hate them for abuse. Which is exactly what Phinn is.
  • 5/10—I added an extra point because it did get better towards the last 200 pages. And despite my feelings and almost dropping this book around page 100, I do want to know what happens next! A couple notes:
    • Wylie became slightly, less annoying throughout the book. Although I don’t think I would ever be friends with her.
    • The book felt a little rushed at some point (maybe the writing style), but then looking back it all was paced pretty well. It might just be me.
    • I LOVED Tinka’s redemption arc. I’m ALL about that positive female reinforcement.
    • Although I don’t like Wylie a lot, this book is quite feminist and I LOVE that.
      • Re: Birth Control and the panic room
      • Girls helping girls
