• Jsyk, if you’re here for fangirling about HoF, now is the time to turn away. You’ve been warned.
    • Note: I use Celaena/Aelin interchangeably.
  • Not a fan of Martyr Celaena.
  • Rowan is sassy af. Is he the new love interest?
  • Me: *hands Elena diploma in crypticology*
  • Also ANOTHER competition/training sequence? If we get ANOTHER masquerade ball I swear.
  • Rowan: normalizing emotional abuse since the beginning of time.
  • I can’t tell if I want Sorchsa and Dorian to get together. She has the most to lose, obviously. And at best it won’t work out between them. At worst she’ll end up dead, or on the streets.
  • Is Aedion in love with Aelin? Or does he just love her? Also Rhysand is Aedion 2.0, let’s just be straight about this.
  • Will it ever be possible for Celaena not to be admired by everyone. Now it’s Aedion/Rowan instead of Dorian and Chaol.
  • Aedion might be an arrogant unfeeling jerk, but he’s right. Celaena is a coward. And has some SERIOUS trust issues.
  • Is anyone else really tired of reading about Manon? Like I can’t bring myself to care about her as a character. Don’t hate me.
  • Also, the whole magic learning has been confusing at best to read because she can’t actually do magic right now?
  • Also, I’m not giving Rowan ANY excuses. He feels bad for threatening to whip her when she already experienced that trauma. Yet shouldn’t the point be NOT to threaten to whip someone at all? Him losing Lyra doesn’t excuse his bad behavior. He chose to let the grief harden him.
  • Wow everything happened really quick. Kind of like ACOTAR.
  • Wait, she found time to set ALL that stuff up???
  • Also it’s OK for the character to be confused, but the reader should have clarity. Which I don’t. The whole flashback thing is a little overwhelming. The fae-demi selling everyone out seems a little unrealistic.
  • The ex machina is strong with this one.
  • Also the siege wrapped up WAY too nicely. Only 15 dead? I doubt that happened.
  • I’m a little exhausted by SJM’s writing. She uses the same words over and over again. Tired. So tired.
  • I better not have just read half a book about Manon and NOT FIND out why she’s important.
  • 2/10—I don’t even know what the 2 points are there for. They just are because it wasn’t SUPER bad writing and at least the plot made sense. But everyone in this book is so convoluted and doesn’t say what they mean and OMGOSH JUST CALM DOWN.
    • I just read half a book about Manon and DID NOT FIND out why she’s important.
