• TW: Eating disorders, drug use, sexual assault, harassment/bullying.
  • The tension in this book and the writing makes me wonder if any of these girls have actual friends.
  • There’s some nice commentary on race in ballet. Similar situations happen in most professions related to this including but not limited to gymnastics, theatre, ice skating etc.
  • The pink lipstick is too obvious a giveaway for Bette. She didn’t do it.
  • So she did do it.
  • The other person who wrote the hateful things in the closet, if it wasn’t Bette, then June? She has enough motivation.
  • Weight. Thinking about girls who starve themselves make me so sad especially because eating disorders are a culturally created disease. They don’t have to exist.
  • The frustrating thing about humans to be is that they say one thing, but then obviously are so hypocritical. Mr. K is going on and on about how ballerinas’ bodies are sacred and they must take care of them, but of course he’s part of the machine that says ballerinas have to be skinny and willowy.
  • I know I’m supposed to be writing comments or whatever, but I’m just not sure what to say.
  • Why is Bette so two faced? I understand some of her feelings, but I can’t understand this world at all. How do you understand the drugs and pressure and eating disorders, starvation and animosity cultivated and breed in this place?
  • I blame the teachers. They actively see all this going on, but they don’t do anything to stop the harassing? Like WHAT THE LITERAL HECK ARE YOU DOING HERE????
  • Bette is a witch, but what Henri is doing is wrong. I really wanted him to be a character I finally liked. But after what he did to Bette. NO LONGER. I just want him to prove Bette did something to Cassie by not sleezy means. Bette is the victim in this instance, but not in many other circumstances.
  • I dont understand June’s mother. She has to know what’s gong on with June after seeing her in the bathroom, but to do nothing seems irresponsible.
  • I want to believe Alec is a good person.
    • I want to believe Alec is a good person.
      • I want to believe Alec is a good person.
  • I have serious trust issues with all these characters and Alec has been “too perfect.”
  • I want to acknowledge Gigi’s father and mother right now because they are the REAL MVP.
  • I knew it. Alec is a little prick. I understand your preferences will be influenced by past relationships, but to throw it back in Gigi’s face like that? What he did is way out of line and a HUGE NO-NO. EW. You can’t be an ass one minute and want a kiss the next.
  • So it’s fine Alec doesn’t want to say anything about his mother, but not that Gigi doesn’t want to say anything about her personal medical information? Jeez.
  • I see you Alec. I know who you are.
  • #protectGigiatallcosts #GigiandAlecforbreakup2K17
  • OMGOSH WHAT IS HAPPENING June is losing it.
  • I will knock the two authors on the Sei-Jin thing. Falling down 5 flights of stars. She would NOT have been able to walk away from that. And June definitely would have gotten in trouble. No matter how much influence Bette has, the teachers would have at least questioned June about it.
  • OK, this is completely getting out of hand. I have no idea who to suspect. Who else would know Gigi has those butterflies (assuming no one goes into her and June’s room). And I know it’s unlocked, but MY FLIPPING GOSH WHAT IS HAPPENING.
  • I’m wondering how this is going to end, are we going to see Gigi perform Giselle?
  • OK, we’re almost there, it’s the dinner or cocktail thingy where they’re all milling around or something.
  • I feel like I’m supposed to hate Bette more than I do. More like I’m sickened by girls like her.
  • HOLY SHI WHO PUSHED HER????????????????????????????? The need to know is burning. Actually I’ve been experiencing that this whole book.
  • 5/10–To say I liked it would not be accurate, but I was entertained by it? IDK, take that as you will. I’m so fundamentally different than the girls in this book, so I find it hard to relate to them. It’s kind of like, I relate to their feelings; but can’t imagine doing any of the things they did in response to their emotions. I am often jealous, I see others’ success and wish I could be like them. But I don’t get so jealous I hurt people or harass them.
    • I saw someone do a “if you like this try this” type thing with TV shows, and they said if you like Gossip Girl, try Tiny Pretty Things. And it was 100 percent spot on. At least how I imagine Gossip Girl
    • I know nothing about ballet or anything as intense as dance, but it all seemed very realistic. The ballet world is similar to the gymnastics world in some respects.
    • Least favorite thing about this book is that you never find out who does what!! Except the lipstick on the mirror, moldy cake and the EKG, those were definitely Bette, Eleanor and June respectively.
