Wow. 2017. It feels weird to type that. But the year is here and I’m excited to get started. I was tagged by the lovely Alice to post my resolutions for this year. I have reading goals, but I generally don’t have yearly personal goals because in the past, it hasn’t done me well to declare it, haha! I do have some yearly goals for reading though! If you decide to participate (which you should completely feel welcome to!) tag some of your friends just for funsies!

  1. Read more Diversely
    I like to think I read diversely, but I know I could do better. My eyes have really been opened this year in terms of #ReadDiverseBooks. I never thought about reading diversely as a conscious decision. But I know now how important it is to read. And there are MANY “classic-like” diverse books, you only need to look. In high school, I read mostly contemporary books; we read usually 4-6 books each year and most of those books were diverse. But that was just the beginning and I’m excited to read even more diverse books next year.
  2. Read more
    I’ve kind of ben descending into this abyss where I don’t read as much as I use to. And I’m going to try to limit my time on Twitter. Don’t get me wrong, Twitter is great, it’s my second love. But I definitely spend too much time on it. I’m trying to start sketching, and I have a lot of projects I’m working on, so something’s gotta go if I want to keep reading.
  3. Selfie-a-day
    I’m REALLY excited about this project I’m starting for next year. It’s called Selfie-a-day. The app is called selfie-a-day and I’m using the app to track what books I’m reading. So I’ll take a selfie everyday with the book(s) I’m currently reading at the moment. The app will then string the pictures together in a video that I can watch in 4.05 minutes at the end of the year. And I can easily see which books I read when on what day! I’d LOVE if someone else participated with me so we can share videos at the end of the year and do a 6 month check up!
    ***Seriously, if you decide to do this, DM me on Twitter and we can chat!!***
  4. Discussions
    I actually created Micro/Macro Discussions because I felt like I didn’t always have it in me to write a long-hand post. Since then I’ve actually written mostly “macro” discussions (¯\_(ツ)_/¯), but I like knowing the option for me is there. I’d like to keep posting more discussions more frequently because I think it will help me think more critically about the books I’m reading, particularly if I have a goal.
  5. Blog for me
    I’m actually doing pretty good on this already right now, but I hope to maintain the attitude I have towards blogging. I’m a pretty small blog. I have some followers? But about 20 of those came with me when I switched this blog from just my “thoughts” blog to a “book” blog. I don’t receive any arcs (that I don’t win from any contests/Goodreads), I’ve never been to Book Expo or YALL fest, any ComicCon or any kind of convention I could obtain ARCs or anything like that. I’m not sponsored by any publishing company and I don’t make any money off running this blog. BUT. And this is a HUGE but, I’m happy-ish. Of course I have goals to grow my blog, I’ve always been ambitious and I’ve always wanted to be successful (like most people). But I’m happy as using this blog as mental and emotional stimulation and satisfaction. I’ve been involved in professional and private journalism and personal and professional blogging for more than 4 years, and I intend to keep up my writing. As long as I keep improving and keep up my skills. I’d say that’s a job well done.

I’m tagging anyone who wants to be accountable for themselves! I don’t have a lot of blogging friends so I’ll have to back out of the “tagging” others specifically. Have a GREAT New Year. Hear’s to it being better than the last one.

