Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s subject is top ten books in 2016, I decided to apply it to the most unique books I read this year. That is to say books that break the genre/stereotype and were unique in idea, unique in characters, unique in message etc. I have (spoiler ridden) reviews for all these books if you care to take a looksee at them! And here they are, in no particular order, the most unique books I read this year!

  1. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
    The most unique part about this book is the world building. Cline literally built a world inside of a world. Which is amazing to me. He created a broken version of our future, and then built a future around that world. And in addition, he created realistic, working rules for both of the worlds. A+.
  2. Under A Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
    I’m pretty sure I’ve said this a million times on here, but this book is pretty unique because it features people of color in a western setting, and they are the heroes. Most often, white people are portrayed as the heroes in westerns because cowboys and all that. But Lee took an entirely different spin on it.
  3. Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
    Again, I KNOW I’ve said this on my blog before, and probably even in my review of this book. But the Christian gay youth of US who are religious need a voice, and I’m so happy Brown wrote this book. It shows a much needed look into what it’s like to live in the closet, and out, in a small conservative town.
  4. Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed
    Very very few books have been written about illegal child marriage, and even less of them by #ownvoices. Saeed, a founder of the #WeNeedDiverseBooks campaign wrote this amazing, powerful debut that everyone should read.
  5. Ivory and Bone by Julia Eshbaugh
    I’ll be upfront and say I did not like this book. I found it incredibly misogynistic. But I will say the writing style was unique. Told from second person, it’s certainly is unlike many of the other books on the shelf, mostly told by first and third person.
  6. The Young Elites by Marie Lu
    This one I’m judging based on character. Adelina is completely unlike “any protagonist” I’ve ever read about. I don’t even know if she is a protagonist sometimes, which makes her that much more interesting.
  7. Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill
    Premise. The blurb on the book says, “Mean Girls meets Lord of the Flies” or something like that. But I like to think of it more of it as a modern Handmaid’s Tale. It’s as terrifying as it sounds.
  8. All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
    This is an adult book, but it’s told backwards. The book spans two weeks, and the first chapter begins on day 14, while the end of the book ends on day 1. Miranda flawlessly sews together the days and gives enough of foreshadowing and hints to help you guess at what’s going on. The twist at the very end, even though it’s day 1, surprises you.
  9. Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
    I don’t know how accurate this book is in terms of the experience of publishing, but it was interesting to learn about that. And also we just need to acknowledge Scott Westerfeld wrote TWO books in one, so that had to have been a LOT of work.
  10. Soppy: A Love Story by Philippa Rice
    OK, so I didn’t read all of this book. I read half in the Amazon Bookstore, but then stopped because I felt guilty I couldn’t buy it that day. It’s currently in my Amazon cart, and I should finish it next year. But I read enough of it to LOVE the characters and premise. It’s about a simple love story and so heartwarming.

Has anyone read any of these books? Did you like them? What’s the most unique book you’ve read this year?

