Hosted by Perpetual page Turner! She put together the ultimate year wrap up with all these questions! Everyone is free to join! Link up your post here! I’m going to try not to repeat myself too much!!

2016 Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 76 (as of Dec. 17, 2016)
Number of Re-Reads: 3 (Graceling and Ella Enchanted, Fangirl)
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy

Best in Books

  1. Best Book You Read In 2016?
    I think an easier question would be “What’s the worst book you read all the way through this year?” And the answer to that question would be Ivory and Bone.
  2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
    Finnikin of the Rock. I’ve heard great things about this book and Melina Marchetta. Most people seem to love it, but I found the characters confusing and nonsensical. I love fantasy, and I adore Jelicoe Road, so I thought I would feel the same way.
  3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?
    Under A Painted Sky. I don’t like westerns, I think I’ve said this before on here. But I just don’t care about the “wild west” but I have this book a go because it has POC represented in the past and I was pleasantly surprised!
  4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
    I don’t know how many people did read it, but I pushed The Sun is Also A Star A LOT. Mostly because, and I still maintain, it’s the diverse rom-com we all need right now in our lives.
  5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?
    • Best series I started: A Darker Shade of Magic
    • Best Sequel of 2016: Crooked Kingdom
  6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?
    Victoria Schwab. I’ve loved all her books, except for Vicious. I liked Vicious, just not as much as her other books. I’m psyched for Our Dark Duet next year!
  7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
    Watchmen offered a much different super-hero type story, which I really appreciated. I don’t like superhero movies in the last, but I’d heard great things about Watchmen and after much perseverance and dedication, I finally finished it.
  8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
    An Ember in the Ashes. The writing Tahir brings to this book is so full of tension and there’s twists and turns at every page. I adored how subtle the story line was and world building was A+.
  9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
    Fangirl. I’m actually thinking about reading this right now! I just Cath and identified with her so much. Right now I’m feeling more and more like a college student (because I have no direction in my life, haha)
    ***edit I decided to start it again because I’m in a slump and am 3/4 done with it now  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯***
  10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?
    A Darker Shade of Magic. I know I’m repeating some of these. But this is the first book I’ve EVER read solely based on the cover. I don’t do that very often. I love the design of this book and adore how minimalistic it is.
  11. Most memorable character of 2016?
    Inej Ghafa. She is one of the strongest characters I’ve ever read and I mean strong in the real way. She’s completely unlike so many characters I’ve read about before and I love her all the more for that.
  12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?
    When the Moon Was Ours reminded me a lot of Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus.
  13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?
    Everything I Never Told You. To see myself reflected and my experiences with passive racism so clearly depicted was everything I needed at that time in my life. I learned so much from the characters and the implicit messages of this book.
  14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?
    Anna and the French Kiss. This was the rom-com I wish I would have read in high school. It was so light-hearted and fun, which was something I was sorely lacking in high school.
  15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?
    Goodness, I’m not great at writing down quotes since I started reviewing. I LOVE quotes, so I’ll just share this one (because when I looked at my quotes, this is the only one I “liked” this year on Godoreads):

    It’s more like you meet someone, and you fall in love, and you hope that that person is the one—and then at some point, you have to put down your chips. You just have to make a commitment and hope you’re right.

  16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?
    • Shortest: Ghost World. Though this one felt really long because I didn’t like it and I eventually dropped it. Does that still count? It appeared in my “year in review” on Goodreads.
    • Longest: Lady Midnight. This one actually felt a lot shorter because it reads so easily.
  17. Book That Shocked You The Most
    Only Ever Yours. I was torn apart by this book. It has similar commentary as The Handmaid’s Tale and it’s a story that will stay with you forever. PLEASE everyone read it. It’s so important to the feminist conversation.
  18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
    Kaz and Inej. I’m forever on this ship. Even if it shares sand with the Titanic I will not jump off this ship and will live at the bottom of whatever body of water necessary. They BELONG together. But actually IRL, I would probably say Kaz doesn’t deserve Inej. She’s way too good for him.
  19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year?
    Probably the mother-daughter relationship in Everything Everything between Madeline and her mother. I think the relationship is explored a lot better than most YA books. I think the parents are often portrayed as evil and inhibitors of growth, sense, fun etc. I liked that Madeline thoughtfully considered her mother’s side and line of thinking. I liked the give and take relationship in this book.
  20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously?
    I didn’t read a lot of repeat authors, that I know of. Other than Rainbow Rowell (I think I read Eleanor and Park the year previous and had no particular affinity to it). So I guess I’ll choose one of my re-reads. I absolutely ADORE Ella Enchanted. It’s everything I want in a fantasy book!
  21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
    Six of Crows. I actually dropped this the first time I tried reading this. But after seeing it so much on Book Twitter and seeing so many fanned reviews, I gave it another chance.
  22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?
    Levi from Fangirl. I could fangirl about him all day long.
  23. Best 2016 debut you read?
    Homegoing. But just read it. I know it’s a little outside of my genre, but it’s such an important read. The story telling was top notch and the socio-economic commentary was amazing. It’s an essential piece of literature I can only assume will become a staple in the coming years.
  24. Best World Building/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
    Ready Player One. Cline does a brilliant job building a broken world and a virtual world to bout. He presents the world to the reader and allows the reader to construct it for himself or herself.
  25. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
    Queen of Shadows. I’m actually debating whether I’m going to finish this or not. I’m about 100 pages in and I CANNOT STAND Celaena. She’s pissy af.
  26. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?
    The Water and the Wild. A whimsical Alice in Wonderland combined with the episode of ATLA where they’re wandering around in the swamp. The writing was also top notch and engaging.
  27. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
    The Perks of Being A Wallflower. I feel like Charlie represents a lot of us. We’re just trying to make it in life and make some friends and have a normal every day life. His story was profound.
  28. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
    Nimona was probably one of my favorite reads this year. I mean, I have a lot. But I loved the humor, the warmth and the sincerity from the characters in this book. So well done and I will read anything Noelle Stevenson writes or draws.
  29. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?
    Written in the Stars. Heartbreaking is the least of all I have to say about this. I’m glad I read a book about this topic because I know little about it. Watching everything in this book go down just made me so sad. But I was glad I read the entire thing.
  30. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
    Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit. The whit and humor was the best in this book. I love Joanna’s voice and even though I thought it was going to crash and burn, I’m so happy with the ending and everyone should read it!

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

  1. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
    Yes! I completed my Goodreads challenge! Initially I set a goal for 50 books in March (I had a late start because I was finishing my last semester in college), and then expanded it to 75 in September.
  2. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?
    I didn’t discover Goodreads this year, but I’m counting it because I did finally learn to use the site properly. There are so many resources and organizing tools available on Goodreads and I definitely didn’t appreciate it before.
  3. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?
    This probably sounds really stuck up, but I wish my post about the Book Expo changes got a few more views. It’s one of my better discussion posts and I think my angle on the topic was pretty unique.
  4. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
    By views it’s my review of All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda. Which is a little weird to me because it’s not what I consider my best review, haha.
  5. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?
    Not getting too distracted by Twitter and reading a lot!
  6. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?
    When anyone commented on my blog posts. I LIVE for comments, and whenever anyone comments it absolutely makes my day!
  7. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
    I didn’t participate in many book events this year because I don’t have a lot of time, and I don’t live in a huge publishing city. But I did attend many #FeminisminYA chats, and I absolutely adore them!
  8. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?
    I’m REALLY proud of this post I wrote on anti-feminism in YA. I worked on it for a long time, and it’s a topic that is so important to me.
  9. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?
    Probably Red Queen because I was so sassy in it. I also have a soft spot for it because it was the first review I was praised for in person and the reason my brother-in-law encouraged me to keep writing reviews.
  10. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?
    I’m new to blogging, so all the blogs I started following are great. But one of my favorites is Pages Unbound run by Krysta and Briana!

Looking Ahead

  1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?
    The Wangs vs. The World! I waited so long for this book to be released and then it had so many holds at the library *sobs*. Bonus: Labyrinth Lost. My library never acquired this book, but hopefully they will in the coming year.
  2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?
    Our Own Private Universe. I love the name. I love this idea. I love the diversity. I can’t wait to read this book in April.
  3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
    When Dimple Met Rishi. I’m here for this adorable, diverse romance.
  4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?
    A Conjuring of Light. I mean the first cliffhanger in nine books and Schwab decides to start with A Gathering of Shadwos??? I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!
  5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?
    I hope to regularly post consistency. I’m not really great at consistency. So I’m hoping to get better at that!
  6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
    None, because I haven’t read any 2017 releases yet!

Leave me your end of year wrap up or review or any post you wish got a little more love! I’ll do my best to read them before the end of the year!

