• I predict this man is going to buy Adelina and then introduce her to The young Elites, and am terrified he’s isn’t going to do that and just abuse her.
  • “game” EW gross. This guy is disgusting.
  • OK, so I was wrong, he just would have abused her.
  • Is there romance in this book? Because I’m all here for that.
  • The whole energy thing is very interesting to me. And very unique and elaborate the energy rock test was interesting. It makes me want to read Rafaelle’s notes and his observations.
  • I can’t tell if I ship Rafaelle or Enzo with Adelina. But then I dont’ know how I feel about any of it. I like Rafaelle better as a character; he’s too good for Adelina though don’t @ me.
  • Well I definitely didn’t expect she’s turn into a spy. I actually thought she’d was going to attack her at the part.
  • Again, Adelina has trust issues obviously. But wouldn’t telling The Young Elites from the beginning be a good way to earn their trust? A good show of faith definitley. Although I’m not confident they would have done anything to save Violetta.
  • Let’s just discuss this world building, really quick. Many nations, many different cultures, immigration, a huge city a la Republic City or New York where they all come together. I mean, I think I can’t quite orient myself because Lu is trying to world build, and explain the magic and move the plot along. So it’s A LOT to do in one book.
  • I have so much stress for Adelina. I can’t enough decide if I want her to get caught or not.
  • A Masquerade. AGAIN!! Did I just not notice this plot device earlier? Was I just really unobservant of the fact that ever YA book has a masquerade in it?
  • Attractive, amazing men step away at the first word of discontent and removal of consent. I mean I have to hand it to Enzo.
  • I recognize Adelina was emotionally abused and this part of her character is completely explored, in the form of her father, and I understand what it’s like to have something expected or told to you over and over and eventually it becomes part of your character. But I still can’t bring myself to like her, I have an emotional disconnect with her. I’ve heard from other people that us as a reader isn’t necessarily supposed to like Adelina, so maybe I’m not alone in this.
  • I mean what Dante said about Enzo’s feelings blinding him is true. He does give Adelina special treatment. And I don’t think I would be that understanding of a newcomer rising to special standing that quickly, and it all of a sudden. It would be too suspicious to me.
  • OMGOSH, why does she have to overhear him!!!
  • IS SHE GOING TO TELL TEREN EVERYTHING OR NOT???
  • I AM EXCSTATIC Lu had Adelina realize Teren was just as manipulating as The Elites are and SO happy she is being an agent and making decisions for herself and she’s not being pushed around. Like YES.
  • But actually how is Adelina and Violetta going to get out of this?
  • I have many conflicting feelings about Violetta and the whole situation of her hiding that she was a malffeto, supressing Adelina’s powers and also letting her suffer alone. I don’t know man.
  • Also another thing about Violetta, I feel like it was a little out of the blue, like it wasn’t hinted at so it feels a little sudden, but I love that Adelina isn’t a special snowflake because of her.
  • Wow I mean I feel like this is the first review I want to break my rating down in sections. Because a general rating would probably be like 5/10 or something. But…:
    • Characters/character development: 8/10. These characters were amazing. incredibly morally grey and complex with fleshed out and explored backstories. Events become part of them instead of just to move the plot along.
    • Execution: 4/10. The world was a little confusing and not as developed as it could be. But the world was so multi-faceted and diverse and that was amazing. I think I would have liked it if the world was more explored.
    • Enjoyablity: 5/10. I enjoyed this book, but it’s probably not my favorite book I’ve ever written. I’m not even sure if I’m going to keep going in the series.
