op Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s subject is top 10 new-to-me authors in 2016. Well 2016 is the year I finally broke free of societies restraints (graduated college) and pursued my book passion professionally (started a book blog). No money was made in the process of this year (untrue, but only by a little).

I’ve loved reading since I was little and I use to spend my summers reading library books by the stack. But when I started college I put it all on hold and when I came back from my hiatus (JK there wasn’t one), the book community was SO different than when I left! I mean I had Goodreads and stuff, but then there was book Twitter and EVERYTHING. So this year has been a huge year of discovering new books and authors and tastes and ideas about books. I’ve decided to narrow my list to new-to-me favorite authors in 2016 (in no particular order. I refuse to pick a favorite). Be prepared for some nostalgia. Can you develop nostalgia for something after 6 months?

The answer for me is yes.

Warning: Many feels in article below.

  1. Leigh Bardugo
    Like OMGOSH. How could I NOT list this amazing writer on my favorite new-to-me list. I can’t say enough about Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. What can I say that I, or another blogger, haven’t said already? I mean just go read them. Do your self a favor, save a life and expose yourself. Go in peace.
  2. Victoria (V.E.) Schwab
    My favorite thing about this author is the sharp lack of romance in her books. Romance has almost ALWAYS been at the forefront of YA books. And I’m excited to see some more books that focus more on plot. I’m just excited to read and experience something different.
  3. Celeste Ng
    Ng introduced her dynamic, diverse family in Everything I Never Told YOu and I fell in love with her writing and story telling skills. I identified so much with both Marilynn and James. I felt like I was looking two halves of myself trying to reconcile with each other. I felt Marilynn’s ambition and James’ desire for acceptance and anger and endurance with passive and blatant racism in the 70s in the mid-Western United States. BLESS HIS HEART. And I don’t even mean that in a sarcastic way.
  4. Nicola Yoon
    Diverse author, check. Diverse cast, check. Diverse plot/issues, check. Is there anything Yoon can’t do? I daresay not, she even has a movie going already. I just hope The Sun Is Also A Star also gets a movie because please this is the diverse rom-com I’ve been waiting 23 years for, which is to say, my whole life.
  5. Noelle Stevenson
    Comical and heartwarming. Stevenson’s stories and humor literally made me laugh out loud. I was encouraged and bolstered by her diversity in her books. Nimona was a great discussion of heroes/villains and Lumberjanes was just the right amount of fun and adventure and creativity. I can’t wait for her next release!
  6. Louise O’Neill
    I mean if there is anyone who is destined to become someone like Margret Atwood, it is O’Neill. Her books meant SO much to me as a feminist and are on an entire other level. Her commentary on rape culture is spot on and Only Ever Yours is honestly one of the first dystopic novels I’ve enjoyed in roughly 5-10 years.
  7. Rainbow Rowell
    Relatable AF, Fangirl came into my life with a bang. It’s one of the first books I read for entertainment this year and set the stage for reading later in the year. It’s also one of the only positive experiences I’ve had so far with New Adult. I think I had read Eleanor and Park before, but I don’t count it because *whispers*I didn’t actually like it very much. I love her contemporary books and Landline was an adorable adult fiction read. I can’t wait for her next release.
  8. Stacey Lee
    I was excited but EXTREMELY reluctant to read Under A Painted Sky because it was a western novel and please I am not on that ship sailing away from the mainland of contemporary. But I was pleasantly surprised by this book and I’m ecstatic for her new book The Secret of the Heart, which I hope to read very soon.
  9. Graphic novels:
    This isn’t an author (obviously), but I’ve read A LOT of graphic novels this year and I’ve decided, they REALLY don’t receive the amount of love they deserve, so here’s a list of great graphic novels and here’s my Graphic novels Goodreads shelf!

I didn’t make it to 10 again, but I’m selective about the word favorite, and that’s OK with me. Any overlap with our favorites? Let me know so we can be excited together!

