• BTB might say his sister is nice “like Elizabeth” but she sure seems like a witch. Maybe it’s pity. But either way it’s abelism.
  • If Mrs. Foley thinks the daughter is a “delight” I’ve decided BTB is just very loyal.
  • OK I know we’re supposed to be glad they’re not longer bullying Joanna, but are we just going to ignore this abelistm???
  • I mean Joanna kind of acknowledges it, but doens’t say anything?
  • I mean Joanna wasn’t doing super bad with this “not causing drama” thing but…
  • Joanna is actually a straight up jerk to Elizabeth. A lot. And it kind of pisses me off. Like every time she decides to give Elizabeth a chance she pull the rug out from beneath her. I think there’s something to say about quietly crushing someone’s hope every time.
  • Joanna is actually incredibly funny though. And I love the voice in this book.
  • OK, here’s another book that focuses on lying and holding back information “for your own good.” Why doesn’t she just explain her situation to Mary Carlson and everything would probably be solved except how she has already been lying (now it’s after they kissed and Mary Carlson thinks she’s just discovering she likes girls/women).
  • Also DANA. But I feel like Dana is a good influence on Jo (for like staying true to yourself stuff).
  • I’m cringing about the way this book is going to turn out. There’s not way it will, she’s lying. To. Everyone.
  • I ended up liking Dana a LOT more than I thought I would initially, she is very susceptible to love and peer pressure, basically for Jo, this is real talk with Dana.
  • 7/10 I LOVE this concept of this book, not very much of YA is focused around LGBTQIA+, and even less of it is focused around LGBTQIA+ books with religion also. I know what it’s like to be different in a small Christian town, so I appreciated seeing that in this book. There are many Christian youth who are also LGBTQIA+ and it’s good to see they represented in the book world.
  • One thing I didn’t like about this book is I felt like the characters weren’t as fleshed out as they could have been. With Joanna, I feel like I know her character really well. But most of the side characters left more to be desired.
