Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week’s subject is “Holiday Gift Guide Freebie.” It’s never too late to start reading more diverse recommendations. A little diversity never killed anyone and actually saved many a people/persons! To see another person experience my struggles and challenges helped me realize I wasn’t alone and that meant everything to me. So here’s a list of some of my favorite diverse books and why you should buy them for the amazing person who’s trying to diversify his or her shelf. This is not nearly close enough of a complete list (obviously), but it’s just my little list. Sorry if this list is starting to become redundant. I just LOVE my favs.

Person of Color MC:
1.) The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
This book feature a Person of Color (POC) MC AND is in #ownvoices book. Heiling, a native of Hawaii, writes a relaxed adventure while still keeping us on our toes. I adored this book and it’s blend of history and maps. I mean who doesn’t like maps.

2.) The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

I mean what to say about this book. I read it about 2 months ago and still think about the story. I ADORE Natasha and Daniel both and it has not one, but TWO POC main characters, and the girl is pursuing a future in STEM. Defying many gender and society stereotypes, it also features an inter-racial relationship. Myself being part of an inter-racial relationship, I can’t help but swoon even more for these two.

Female/female romance:
3.) Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
What makes Georgia Peaches so unique than most books is it has a f/f romance in it. f/f romances are even rarer than the less common m/m romance. In addition, this book has religious diversity. Religion is seldom seen in well known YA books and this book does an amazing job of expressing and showing how it’s hard to fit in when you so clearly stand out. As a member of a Christian religion, I appreciated that aspect of this book.

Male/male romance:
4.) Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda
A slow romance with winning characters and a main character with the best sense of humor. I dare you not to love this book and it’s characters. Simon is the friend I wished I had in high school. I mean, if you want to relive ~most~ of the best parts of high school and a couple of the worst, pick this one up. For me, it was like walking though my high school hall again.

Diverse Cast:
5.) Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
But I mean if you read ONE book on this list, you MUST read this one. These books have it all. Ethnic diversity, religious diversity, sexual identity diversity, mental illness representation and almost an equal number of men and women represented. Not to mention wicked storylines and a killer cast. Did I mention diversity. I mean you’ve probably already read this, but if you haven’t do it soon. Ask for it for Christmas. I mean the cover will sell you alone.

#Ownvoices:
6.) Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
In every sense of the word, this book is an #ownvoices. It is an adult book and has some very mature themes. It is fascinating to see how the characters’ decisions affect their posterity’s future and has a profound commentary on socio-economic forces that are too often, out of our control.

7.) When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore
This is the most beautifully written book I’ve read this year. Featuring a legend from McLemore’s culture and representing transgendered people and ethnic diversity. This book is the “magic in the real world” book you don’t want to miss.

Manga:
8.) Wolf Children by Mamoru Hosoda
Hosoda is an amazing story teller. He’s become a favorite in Japan, like a mini Miyazaki. Wolf Children is the most precious story about a women raising two children in the country side of Japan. The manga is enjoyable, the movie is gorgeous. Both are worth consuming as media.

Mental Health Awareness:
9.) Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
I think Fangirl embodies a lot of the insecurities we feel when we find ourselves in an unknown environment. I absolutely ADORED Cath. Even though she drove me a little crazy, I also recognized and saw myself in a lot of her. I like how Rowell wrote this character so everyone could identify with her.

As ALWAYS, there are many amazing books, and these are not the only diverse books I’ve read this year. I’m ever growing my “read” shelf on Goodreads. i realize I only have 9 here, but for some reason that’s all I feel like writing about right now. Buuuut! Have any recommendations for me? Have you read any of these books? What has been your favorite diverse book this year?

