• The truth is, I’m with Dorian on this one—I know shocker— on this and this only. Maybe it’s just me, but I have no idea who she’s actually attached to. As a reader, I’m confused.
  • “Debrief,” was that just a euphemism?
  • Wait, I though Roland was the brother? What’s Dorian’s brother’s name??? lol
  • I can’t decide how I feel about this love triangle. Like it feels so casual and I like that it’s ~kind of~ in the background, but then it comes to forefront sometimes. But mostly I just feel like it’s less of an intense traditional love triangle and more of Celaena deciding she doesn’t want someone, and then wants someone else.
  • OMG, Dorian is thinking she’s watching him without emotion when she’s really watching Roland without emotion and worrying about the fate of Erilea.
  • Dorian’s privilege honestly knows no bounds.
  • #BringbackNox
  • Nehemia’s “hazelnut” I think you mean brown, bronze, or any color that isn’t a food.
  • It’s fortunate that all parties people attend in YA who are trying to be discreet are masquerades, isn’t it? I mean come on SJM. There was one in ToG too!!!
  • Nehemia is WAY to defensive about looking into Davis’ involvement in the rebellion. And also about the amulet.
  • So how about you try for longer than 5 seconds to solve the amulet-tomb-puzzle-thing.
  • How can Dorian in this book and Dorian in the other book be so fundamentally different? I don’t even hate Dorian in this book and I actually like him a lot and standing up to his father. Like WHAT? Also Chaol too, he’s really different.
  • I mean #BringbackNox STILL. But Chaol has proven to actually be a pretty decent person in this book too.
  • I kind of doubt the KING hasn’t noticed Chaol and Celaena’s intimacy. I mean courts like to gossip. The better question is how does the King NOT know about them.
  • Chaol’s response to Celaena figuring out Nehemia was going to be questioned tonight is what the guilty do; make excuses and tell half-truths.
  • OK I feel like this second wind Celaena gets when she’s trying to flee with Dorian is unrealistic and she could barely fight off Dorian. She’s supposed to be this amazing warrior but she keeps getting bested, and then saved by Chaol. Wtf.
  • Also a couple things to note now we know she’s ACTUALLY fae.
    • The foreshadowing was good, there was just enough of it. I mean before all of Chaol’s research and the librarian blabbed of course.
    • If she favored fire before, why doesn’t she favor fire in her human form?
    • Singing at Nehemia’s grave in fae, when you’re trying to keep that you’re actually fae a secret… You’ve had better days Celaena. Also you KNEW Chaol was there. Don’t @ me. You brought this on yourself.
  • Also, would hair actually turn red if it was dipped in blood?
  • I think I’ve read the word “hollow” at least 50 times in this book. That’s at least 45 times too many.
  • OK Chaol “I am a martyr” _____ (last name). That’s enough out of you.
  • Well I’m really glad we weren’t left on that 6000 foot high cliffhanger. At least we find out what she whispers in Chaol’s ear, AND receive confirmation about WHO she really is.
  • 6/10. There were so many things in this book I liked much more than in TOG, but I also was frustrated by some things in this book too. Overall, I enjoyed it and it was an entertaining read but: no diversity in sexuality and all of the characters besides Nehemia are white (as far as I can tell) and it didn’t really have any strong themes to be admired. But it sure was entertaining. I lament Nehemia’s death especially because she was the best character all along and why did she have to sacrifice herself *sobbing for days* she was the best of us. Chaol was hella martyr-ey in this book which I didn’t really appreciate at all. And ALL THE CHARACTERS KEPT INFORMATION FOR EACH OTHER’S OWN GOOD OMGOSH. Why is it so hard to just, you know, TELL EVERYONE WHAT YOU KNOW. Because you know knowing only half of the picture is ALWAYS better than knowing all the facts. I liked these characters WAY more than in this book. They seemed more realistic and more relatable? Like SJM was trying to sell these characters to us in ToG and they were not all there. I feel like they’re a lot more fleshed out in this book. So I’m more invested in them now than in ToG. The story is also a LOT more interesting than ToG. I like that SJM is revealing more pieces of the puzzle.
