• “Don’t risk losing control. That happens enough when sober.” No wiser words were ever spoken about alcohol.
  • High school is the the worst experience you can ever have. Just for the record. I pity anyone who’s high school experience was the peak of their life. Like, you have so much more to live for than those 4 years.
  • I just want everyone to know high school is a terrible place, but it gets better. Just know the people who tell you it’s great are usually the bullies.
  • Honestly I don’t know what to say about this event. These kids are terrible and they think of the worst things to do (fat girl rodeo, anon graffiti) and say (fat whore).
  • High school boys are the worst.
  • OK so her principal takes sexual harassment seriously? What about plain OLD harassment. Because like it or not, Jack harassed Libby and her reaction was decent and warranted and self defense. Don’t even tell me otherwise.
  • High school girls are the worst.
  • I love Libby. She’s just like us. Her feelings are hurt and she’s bullied and she’s scared to take a stand, but she doesn’t back down. She’s brave and does the hard thing because she knows she owes it to herself. Like what an inspiration.
  • Also Jack is a nice guy, we see that now; but he’s still done crappy things. Although I love his character arc and how aware he’s becoming of himself and also how shitty his friends are.
  • Wow, Libby is so amazing. I mean if I was her, I don’t think I would have helped Jack recognize the difference between Travis and Andy.
  • I imagine high school parties went probably a little like this one is going, making out in the host’s siblings’ rooms, confessions, drinking, people ending things, people beginning things, also stupid people being stupid(er). I am so lucky I never went to one.
  • 8/10, I ADORED this book. I love Libby and how real and smart she is. She feels deeply but also things through things logically. And also she has beat all the odds and forgiven people (Jack) even when they don’t always deserve it. In the end, this book is for everyone who has ever felt uncomfortable in their own skin, which is to say everybody. This book is for every one of us.
  • Edit: So after looking at some other reviews and seeing what other people have said I’m changing my rating of this book to 5/10. I still identified with the voice of Libby mostly just because I’ve been very uncomfortable with my own skin and I felt similar to her. But I also recognize the problematic representation that is in this book and after studying it I feel sad and disappointed in myself for not recognizing it. I hope to use this experience to evaluate the books I read more closely so I can see problematic representation easier and identify it.
