Alright, let’s be honest, graphic novels do NOT get enough love! Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted weekly by The Broke and Bookish and anyone is free to participate! This week is top ten books I’d recommend if you like graphic novels. There will be some classics, but also some modern graphic novels. I definitely don’t read enough, but I’m trying to be better and read more because they’re amazing and tell stories so different than books! So I’m going to try and recommend graphic novels from many genres so there’s love all around and something for everyone. Let’s go! Just be aware, many of these are sad and many of these are memoirs.

1.) Maus I & II by Art Spiegelman
This is the first graphic novel I was ever introduced to and it’s about a man, his life and his experience in Auschwitz. Spiegelman is the man’s son and symbolically draws the people as different animals.

2.) Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol
A ~creepy~ read just after Halloween! Anya’s Ghost is the story of Anya who is a little bratty, but intently curious and a little lonely. It’s not my favorite, but it was defintely enjoyable.

3.) Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Nimona is one of the most recent graphic novels I’ve read. It was a webtoon before being published as a bound graphic novel. The humor is on point and all the characters are loveable.

4.) Lumberjanes: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters and Brooke A. Allen
Another humor filled one. Lumberjanes is the adventures of 5 girls as they attend summer camp and it’s the funniest thing you’ve ever seen/read/witnessed.

5.) Tangles by Sarah Leavitt
This story is the heartbreaking memoir of Leavitt as she chronicles her family dealing with her mother’s early onset Alzheimers.

6.) Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
Another memoir, Satrapi carries us before and during and a bit after the Iran revolution and her experience growing up as Iran changes and evolves into Iran today.

7.) Blankets by Craig Thompson
A coming of age memoir as Thompson questions the values and constants he’s held since childhood. I read this one a long time ago, so I can’t vouch for how much I like it, but it’s very unique and has more religion than most books.

8.) Watchman by Alan Moore
A classic of course, this is perhaps one of the best known graphic novels and is an amazing feat to have accomplished. I personally didn’t enjoy it, but I also know it’s a story to be admired for many things.

9.) Boxers & Saints and American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
Boxers and Saints is a dual perspective story just published by Yang about the Boxer Rebellion. Not sure what that is? That’s OK! Most history classes gloss over it. Here’s a great way to learn about a small facet of it!
American Born Chinese is about growing up in the United States as a second generation Chinese immigrant. It’s largely symbolic, and an equally important read to Boxers and Saints.

Have you read any of these? Adding any to TBR? Let me know!!

Advertisements