• The main characters: Jamaican and Korean. Interracial couples. YES.
  • Bible study, well that might not be so bad depending on how often and long the sessions are. The stories are certainly interesting.
  • I love how amazingly Natasha calls out Lester Barnes on him saying he’s “been” to Jamaica. There are SO many people who think they’ve seen a country just because they went there. If they took pictures, ate at nice restaurants and learned to say “hello” they LOVE (insert country here). But they don’t care about the actual people; they don’t care about the political climate or try to understand the culture. They don’t actually speak the language, they eat American food and all they see of the country is what they want to see: A place where they can kick back and relax and not care about anything. That’s not LOVING a country. That’s a passing fascination.
  • “No one wants to believe life is random.”
  • Daniel’s chapter headlines are hilarious. Although I think Casanova would go for a black suit and tie combo instead of gray and red respectively dontcha think?
  • Koi no yokan is the most romantic phrase I’ve ever heard of.
  • For the record, Daniel does blush. A lot. Natasha’s right.
  • I’m 99 percent sure I’ve heard of the Grandfather and Nikolav theories before, but I definitely didn’t know they had names.
  • I love how much science is in this book. There’s so many things I know nothing about, and all the different chemicals released during stages of love?? So fascinating!
  • “I’m happy to have choices. They’re mine to take.” Saying it like it is.
  • “To grow up is to grow apart.” Why do there have to be so many sad truths in this book???
  • There is no end to this terribly contentious situation in a store for black hair run by one ignorant and oblivious and douchiest people ever.
  • NOOOO, how was everything perfect less than an hour before in the norebang. They can’t stay apart forever. They were quirky and romantic and adorable and perfect.
  • I like even though they left each other without exchanging phone numbers, it didn’t cause drama. Like this is the 21st century, use the power of the Internet/your brain plz and ty.
  • Joe’s story is like Carl’s from Up and, no you’re crying all the tears.
  • Jeremy Fitzgerald is the humaniest human to ever human in this human world we live in and makes the most human mistakes to ever human this earth.
  • HOW COULD HE MISS THE MEETING WITH THE APPEAL JUDGE. THIS ISN’T MISSING A TRAIN OR A RIDE ON THE FERRIS WHEEL. THIS IS SOMEONE’S LIFE.
  • OK, I love happy endings, and when the last section of the book is from Irene’s POV I’m like, “OK I’m so happy she was inspired by Natasha and she found the strength to go on, but how is this going to give me closure??”
  • 6/10, a lovely, adorable read. I read it in about a day. So enjoyable and Yoon’s story telling style in TSIAAS is similar as Everything Everything. I actually think I liked this book better. It had a certain flow and finesse Everything Everything lacked. Would definitely read again and recommend! I wish I had more time with Daniel and Natasha when they reunite at the end, but I’m also content with the ending as well.
  • Normally I don’t like love-at-first-sight encounters because I don’t personally relate to those experiences. But this story was so sweet and I didn’t feel like it was forced or rushed. It felt right.
