• Nix is a very interesting heroine to me, especially since she has quite a driven need to help her father. I’m curious about her mother who lived in an opium den.
  • Her father infuriates me. I understand he lost something precious to him, but he’s a selfish, terrible father. He doesn’t even seem to care about her at all. “Grief doesn’t change you, Hazel. It reveals you.” -John Green
  • For some reason I didn’t realize Nix is half Chinese. So that’s really exciting! DIVERSITY!!
  • I love how romance is part of the story, but the center conflict isn’t overtaken. Just because she has some feelings for Kash doesn’t mean she forgets about her father and his goal.
  • I LOVE Blake. But I’m skeptical. Kash is supposed to be the love interest. But how many unimportant characters receive names?
  • OK, if I could go anywhere I had a map to, I would definitely go to Ketterdam to worship at Inej’s feet.
  • I love how magically realistic this book is!
  • Nix’s father is a monster. How can he think leaving Kash in some random place? IDEC, I’ll never like Slate as a character.
  • The Young Mr. Blake is very charming with his ~forward~ flirting, but I don’t fully trust him yet.
  • OK, so maybe Slate isn’t as bad as a person, but he’s still a bad father. At least he was thinking of alternatives to Mr. D’s deal.
  • Please tell me Nix has enough foresight to pick up the piece of her dress she cut off to get free of the door.
  • EF, why did Kash and Nix have to get caught stealing the map????
  • I still don’t quite understand the whole plot with Joss. They’re going to rescue her so her future (where this is all taking place) doesn’t occur?
  • Haha, honorable intentions, that’s funny. I can assure anyone Mr. Hart’s intentions are everything but honorable.
  • I love how much Nix has grown as a character, from feating her father to now telling him to choose and creating her own future.
  • Nix is worried she has to leave everything on The Temptation behind, but what’s stoping Nix from taking Kash with her when she starts her own crew?
  • How does Blake know about wiring, did that exist back in 1884?
  • Lol, Blake was worrying about being bold earlier, he’s much more confident while drawing these maps than before. Also I kind of free like it’s wrong of Nix to lead him on when she clearly doesn’t want a relationship. I can’t decide on if she’s actually interested in him, or if she’s just playing along. I don’t know if she knows either.
  • “To be known was to exist.” (332)
  • I just CANNOT take Blake’s flirting. It’s adorable. I’m at maximum capacity.
  • I find myself rooting for Blake, even though she’s now kissed both. Like I know I’m meant to favor Kash, but I don’t believe it would be hard to convince Blake to become a permanent guest on The Temptation.
  • I can’t help but think leaving the warriors in the Hawaiian forest is a terrible disservice to historians everywhere.
  • Oh, well sinking them is probably for the best, although if they do find the junk anywhere, it will be confusing.
  • Also, so is Nix just going to shamelessly flirt with both Blake and Kash in the next book? Or has Blake come down from cloud 9?
  • 6/10, wow. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I will definitely be buying it for my personal library. This is the kind of book I would read to jump out of a slump! So many feelings. I’m excited for the next one!
