OK, so I did start this post in the way EVERY other review on my blog is but I got lost in the story (YES) and I have a few points going around in my head. But it’s not like my usual work so be prepared. I also read this book as part of the #DiverseAThon which is fantastic and it’s not too late to join because it’s a life-long endeavor. YES! The chat’s are until September 19 at 8 p.m. Eastern/5 p.m. Pacific. I’d love to see you all there!

  • I read about this book a while ago and knew I wanted to read it. I read Things Fall Apart so long ago I barely remember it, and while I am familiar with East Asian culture, I know little to nothing about the countries in Africa or their cultures beyond white man’s burden and the Rwandan Genocide.
  • I loved reading about the different traditions especially at the beginning with Effia and Esi. I have studied little tribal cultures and it’s a very new part of the world to me, and I found myself appreciating how different the thought process was in the village, even if I didn’t agree with it.
  • The characters are relatable. In a way, all of the characters are caught between cultures; they’re exist in between. The entire posterity of Effia is caught between the privilege and foreignness of the white man and their ancestors and tribe. Much of the posterity of Esi is caught between what they left behind in Ghana and what they must face in the United States. I particularly identified with Marjorie because she was too white to belong in Ghana, yet too black to truly be accepted in the United States (most notably when she was young).
  • The characters (again). I cared deeply about the happiness and the welfare of these characters, in a way I haven’t in a while. I mean I ~care~ about all my characters. They are my children. But these characters felt very real to me. I felt like all their journey’s were cut short, which kind of annoyed me to be honest; mostly because I’m someone who requires closure. In every successive generation, as I realized parents were often mentioned in the children’s stories, I was able to learn a little more. But not much. Even though all the stories were incomplete, they didn’t feel fragmented; although I felt the most closure with Marjorie and Marcus.
    • All the perspectives ended with me wanting more and feeling frustrated I couldn’t read with them for the rest of their lives.
  • From the summary: “[Homegoing] delivering unforgettable characters whose lives were shaped by historical forces beyond their control.” There’s really nothing to add to this description. It pained me to watch characters try to find their identity in a world that refused to accept them as they were.
  • 8/10. This is a read I won’t soon forget and I will recommend to EVERYONE who asks me for a book. For all the above reasons. Definitely a favorite of the year.
  • “There is something delightful and astonishing about a book that demands to be read.” -Me about Homegoing.
